Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Game Development
  2. Programming

استخدام عزم الدوران والدفاعات لتحريك وتدوير مركبة فضائية مصممة

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Aisy Abdullah (you can also view the original English article)

أثناء العمل على لعبة تم تصميم سفن الفضاء فيها من قبل اللاعبين ويمكن تدميرها جزئيًا ، واجهت مشكلة مثيرة للاهتمام: إن تحريك سفينة حولها باستخدام أجهزة الدفع ليست مهمة سهلة. يمكنك ببساطة تحريك وتدوير السفينة في جميع أنحاء مثل سيارة ، ولكن إذا كنت ترغب في تصميم السفينة والأضرار الهيكلية تؤثر على حركة السفن بطريقة قابلة للتصديق ، في الواقع يمكن أن يكون محاكاة الدوافع نهجا أفضل. في هذا البرنامج التعليمي ، سأوضح لك كيفية القيام بذلك.

إذا افترضنا أن السفينة يمكن أن يكون لها دفاعات متعددة في تشكيلات مختلفة ، وأن شكل السفينة وخصائصها الفيزيائية يمكن أن تتغير (على سبيل المثال ، يمكن تدمير أجزاء من السفينة) ، فمن الضروري تحديد أي من الدعامات التي يتم إطلاقها من أجل تحريك وتدوير سفينة. هذا هو التحدي الرئيسي الذي نحتاج إلى معالجته هنا.

تتم كتابة العرض التوضيحي في Haxe ، ولكن يمكن تطبيق الحل بسهولة بأي لغة. يفترض وجود محرك فيزيائي مشابه لـ Box2D أو Nape ، ولكن أي محرك يوفر الوسائل اللازمة لتطبيق القوى والدوافع والاستعلام عن الخصائص الفيزيائية للهيئات سوف يفعل.

جرب التجريبي

انقر فوق SWF لمنحها التركيز ، ثم استخدم مفاتيح الأسهم ومفاتيح Q و W لتنشيط أجهزة الدفع المختلفة. يمكنك التبديل إلى تصميمات مختلفة لسفن الفضاء باستخدام مفاتيح الأرقام من 1 إلى 4 ، ويمكنك النقر فوق أي كتلة أو دحرجة لإزالتها من السفينة.


تمثل السفينة

يعرض هذا الرسم البياني الفئات التي تمثل السفينة ، وكيف ترتبط ببعضها البعض:

Gamedev Maths and Physics: Using Torque and Thrusters to Correctly Maneuver a Player-Designed Spaceship

BodySprite هي فئة تمثل جسم مادي مع تمثيل رسومي. فهو يسمح بإرفاق كائنات العرض بالأشكال ، والتأكد من أنها تتحرك وتدور بشكل صحيح مع الجسم.

فئة السفينة هي حاوية من الوحدات. يدير هيكل السفينة ويتعامل مع إرفاق وفصل الوحدات. أنه يحتوي على مثيل ModuleManager واحد.

يقوم إرفاق وحدة ما بإلحاق شكلها وعرضها على BodySprite الأساسي ، لكن إزالة الوحدة تتطلب عملًا أكثر قليلاً. أولاً ، يتم إزالة كائن الشكل والشكل من الوحدة النمطية BodySprite ، ومن ثم يتم فحص هيكل السفينة بحيث يتم فصل أي وحدات غير متصلة بالنواة (الوحدة ذات الدائرة الحمراء). ويتم ذلك باستخدام خوارزمية شبيهة بملء الفيضان الذي يأخذ في الاعتبار الطريقة التي يمكن لكل وحدة توصيلها بالوحدات الأخرى (على سبيل المثال ، يمكن للدفاعات الاتصال فقط من جانب واحد ، اعتمادًا على اتجاهها).

يختلف فصل الوحدات إلى حد ما: لا يزال يتم حذف الشكل والعرض من BodySprite ، ولكن يتم إرفاقهما بعد ذلك بمثال ShipDebris.

هذه الطريقة في تمثيل السفينة ليست أبسط ، ولكنني وجدت أنها تعمل بشكل جيد للغاية. سيكون البديل هو تمثيل كل وحدة كجسم منفصل و 'لصقها' مع مفصل لحام. في حين أن هذا من شأنه أن يجعل تفكيك السفينة أسهل بكثير ، فإنه سيسبب أيضا أن تشعر السفينة بالمطاط والمرونة إذا كان لديها عدد كبير من الوحدات.

إن ModuleManager عبارة عن حاوية تحافظ على وحدات السفينة في كل قائمة (مما يتيح سهولة التكرار) وخريطة تجزئة (تسمح بالوصول السهل عبر الإحداثيات المحلية).

من الواضح أن فئة ShipModule تمثل وحدة سفينة. إنها فئة تجريدية تحدد بعض وسائل الراحة والسمات التي تمتلكها كل وحدة. تكون كل فئة فرعية تابعة للمجموعة مسؤولة عن إنشاء كائن وشكل العرض الخاصين بها ، وتحديث نفسها إذا لزم الأمر. يتم تحديث الوحدات النمطية أيضًا عند إرفاقها بـ ShipDebris ، ولكن في هذه الحالة يتم تعيين علامة attachToShip على false.

إذن فالسفينة هي في الواقع مجرد مجموعة من الوحدات الوظيفية: وحدات بناء تحدد مواضعها ونوعها سلوك السفينة. وبالطبع ، فإن وجود سفينة جميلة تطفو فوق سطح الأرض مثل كومة من الطوب ، من شأنه أن يؤدي إلى لعبة مملة ، لذلك نحتاج إلى معرفة كيفية جعلها تتجول بطريقة ممتعة للعب ، لكنها واقعية بشكل مقنع.


تبسيط المشكلة

إن تحريك السفينة وتحريكها بإطلاق قاذفات الدفع بشكل انتقائي ، وتغيير اتجاهها إما عن طريق ضبط الخانق أو عن طريق تشغيلها وإيقافها في تتابع سريع ، هي مشكلة صعبة. لحسن الحظ ، إنها أيضًا غير ضرورية.

إذا كنت تريد تدوير سفينة بدقة حول نقطة ، على سبيل المثال ، يمكنك القيام بذلك ببساطة عن طريق إخبار محرك الفيزياء الخاص بك لتدوير الجسم كله. في هذه الحالة ، ومع ذلك ، كنت أبحث عن حل بسيط غير مثالي ، ولكنه متعة اللعب. لجعل المشكلة أكثر بساطة ، سأقدم قيدًا:

لا يمكن أن يتم تشغيل الدفعات أو إيقافها فقط ، ولا يمكن أن يتغير اتجاهها.

الآن بعد أن تخلينا عن الكمال والتعقيد ، أصبحت المشكلة أكثر بساطة. نحتاج أن نقرر ، لكل ما هو دافع ، ما إذا كان يجب تشغيله أو إيقافه ، اعتمادًا على موقعه على السفينة ومدخلات اللاعب. يمكننا تعيين مفتاح مختلف لكل داسر ، لكننا سننتهي بـ QWOP بين النجمي ، لذا سنستخدم مفاتيح الأسهم للتحول والتحرك ، وسؤال Q و W للقذف.


حالة بسيطة: تحريك السفينة إلى الأمام وإلى الخلف

الترتيب الأول من العمل هو نقل السفينة للأمام والخلف ، لأن هذه هي أبسط حالة ممكنة. لنقل السفينة ، سنقوم ببساطة بإطلاق الدعامات التي تواجه الاتجاه المعاكس الذي نريد الذهاب إليه. على سبيل المثال ، إذا أردنا المضي قدمًا ، فسنطلق جميع الدفعات التي تواجه الخلف.

من الواضح أن هذا لن ينتج دائمًا التأثير المطلوب. بسبب القيد المذكور أعلاه ، إذا لم يتم وضع أجهزة الدفع بالتساوي ، فإن تحريك السفينة قد يؤدي إلى تدويرها. علاوة على ذلك ، ليس من الممكن دائمًا اختيار التركيبة الصحيحة من أجهزة الدفع لدفع السفينة حسب الحاجة. في بعض الأحيان ، لن يؤدي أي توليفة من الدفعات إلى تحريك السفينة بالطريقة التي نريدها. هذا هو تأثير مرغوب فيه في لعبتي ، لأنه يجعل الضرر السفن وتصميم السفينة سيئة واضح جدا.

Gamedev Maths and Physics: Using Torque and Thrusters to Correctly Maneuver a Player-Designed Spaceship

تكوين سفينة لا يمكنه التحرك للخلف


تدوير السفينة

Gamedev Maths and Physics: Using Torque and Thrusters to Correctly Maneuver a Player-Designed Spaceship

في هذا المثال ، من الواضح أن إطلاق الحشوات A و D و E سوف يتسبب في تحرك السفينة في اتجاه عقارب الساعة (وكذلك الانجراف إلى حد ما ، ولكن هذه مشكلة مختلفة تمامًا). تدوير السفينة يتلخص في معرفة الطريقة التي يساهم بها الدافع في دوران السفينة.

تبين أن ما نبحث عنه هنا هو معادلة عزم الدوران - وتحديدًا إشارة وحجم عزم الدوران.

لذلك دعونا نلقي نظرة على ما هو عزم الدوران. يُعرَّف العزم على أنه مقياس لمقدار قوة التأثير على كائن ما يؤدي إلى تدوير الكائن:

Gamedev Maths and Physics: Using Torque and Thrusters to Correctly Maneuver a Player-Designed Spaceship

ونظرًا لأننا نريد تدوير السفينة حول مركز كتلتها ، فإن [Latex] r [/ latex] هو ناقل المسافة من موضع نظام الدفع لدينا إلى مركز كتلة السفينة بأكملها. يمكن أن يكون مركز الدوران أي نقطة ، ولكن مركز الكتلة هو على الأرجح ما يتوقعه اللاعب.

متجه القوة [لاتكس] F [/ latex] عبارة عن متجه اتجاه وحدة يصف اتجاه جهاز الرفع لدينا. في هذه الحالة ، نحن لا نهتم بالعزم الفعلي ، فقط بعلامته ، لذا لا بأس من استخدام متجه الاتجاه فقط.

نظرًا لأن المنتج المتقاطع لا يتم تعريفه لمتجهين ثنائي الأبعاد ، فسوف نعمل ببساطة مع متجهات ثلاثية الأبعاد ونعين المكون [latex] z [/ latex] على 0 ، مما يجعل الرياضيات مبسطة بشكل جميل:

[latex]
\tau = r \times F \\
\tau = (r_x,\quad r_y,\quad 0) \times (F_x,\quad F_y,\quad 0) \\
\\ tau = (-0 \\ cdot F_y + r_y \\ cdot 0، \\ quad 0 \\ cdot F_x - r_x \\ cdot 0، \\ quad -r_y \\ cdot F_x + r_x \\ cdot F_y) \\\\
\tau = (0,\quad 0,\quad -r_y \cdot F_x + r_x \cdot F_y) \\
\tau_z = r_x \cdot F_y - r_y \cdot F_x \\
[/latex]

Gamedev Maths and Physics: Using Torque and Thrusters to Correctly Maneuver a Player-Designed Spaceship

تصف الدوائر الملونة كيف يؤثر الدس على السفينة: الأخضر يشير إلى أن الدافع يؤدي إلى تدوير السفينة في اتجاه عقارب الساعة ، ويشير اللون الأحمر إلى أنه يتسبب في تدوير السفينة عكس اتجاه عقارب الساعة. يشير حجم كل دائرة إلى مدى تأثير ذلك الدافع على دوران السفينة.

مع هذا في المكان ، يمكننا حساب كيف يؤثر كل داس على السفينة بشكل فردي. تشير قيمة الإرجاع الإيجابية إلى أن الدافع سيؤدي إلى تدوير السفينة في اتجاه عقارب الساعة والعكس صحيح. تنفيذ هذا في التعليمات البرمجية هو واضح جدا:


استنتاج

الحل الموضح سهل التطبيق ويعمل بشكل جيد في لعبة من هذا النوع. بالطبع ، هناك مجال للتحسين: هذا البرنامج التعليمي والتوضيحي لا يأخذ في الاعتبار أن السفينة قد تجرّب بواسطة شيء آخر غير لاعب بشري ، وتنفيذ طيار الذكاء الاصطناعي الذي يمكن أن يطير فعلا سفينة نصف مدمرة سيكون تحدي مثير جدا (واحد سآخذ لمواجهة في وقت ما ، على أي حال).

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

1. Game Development
  2. Programming
Gamedevelopment

Using Torque and Thrusters to Move and Rotate a Player-Designed Spaceship

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:

While working on a game in which the spaceships are designed by players and can be partially destroyed, I encountered an interesting problem: moving a ship around using thrusters is not an easy task. You could simply move and rotate the ship around like a car, but if you want ship design and structural damage to affect ships' movement in a believable way, actually simulating thrusters could be a better approach. In this tutorial, I'll show you how to do this.

Assuming a ship can have multiple thrusters in various configurations, and that the ship's shape and physical properties can change (for example, parts of the ship could be destroyed), it is necessary to determine which thrusters to fire in order to move and rotate the ship. That's the main challenge we need to tackle here.

The demo is written in Haxe, but the solution can easily be implemented in any language. A physics engine similar to Box2D or Nape is assumed, but any engine that provides the means to apply forces and impulses and query the physical properties of bodies will do.

Try the Demo

Click the SWF to give it focus, then use the arrow keys and the Q and W keys to activate different thrusters. You can switch to different spaceship designs using the 1-4 number keys, and you can click any block or thruster to remove it from the ship.


Representing the Ship

This diagram shows the classes that represent the ship, and how they relate to each other:

Gamedev Maths and Physics: Using Torque and Thrusters to Correctly Maneuver a Player-Designed Spaceship

BodySprite is a class that represents a physical body with a graphical representation. It allows display objects to be attached to shapes, and makes sure that they move and rotate correctly with the body.

The Ship class is a container of modules. It manages the structure of the ship and deals with attaching and detaching modules. It contains a single ModuleManager instance.

Attaching a module attaches its shape and display object to the underlying BodySprite, but removing a module requires a bit more work. First the module's shape and display object are removed from the BodySprite, and then the structure of the ship is checked so that any modules not connected to the core (the module with the red circle) are detached. This is done using an algorithm similar to flood fill that takes into account the way each module can connect to other modules (for example, thrusters can only connect from one side, depending on their orientation).

Detaching modules is somewhat different: their shape and display object are still removed from the BodySprite, but are then attached to an instance of ShipDebris.

This way of representing the ship is not the simplest, but I found it to work very well. The alternative would be to represent each module as a separate body and "glue" them together with a weld joint. While this would make breaking the ship apart much easier, it would also cause the ship to feel rubbery and elastic if it had a large number of modules.

The ModuleManager is a container that keeps the modules of a ship in both a list (allowing easy iteration) and a hash map (allowing easy access via local coordinates).

The ShipModule class obviously represents a ship module. It's an abstract class that defines some convenience methods and attributes that each module has. Each module subclass is responsible for constructing its own display object and shape, and for updating itself if needed. Modules are also updated when they're attached to ShipDebris, but in that case the attachedToShip flag is set to false.

So a ship is really just a collection of functional modules: building blocks whose placement and type defines the behavior of the ship. Of course, having a pretty ship just floating around like a pile of bricks would make for a boring game, so we need to figure out how to make it move around in a way that is fun to play and yet convincingly realistic.


Simplifying the Problem

Rotating and moving a ship by selectively firing thrusters, varying their thrust either by adjusting throttle or by turning them on and off in quick succession, is a difficult problem. Fortunately, it is also an unnecessary one.

If you wanted to rotate a ship precisely around a point, for example, you could do that simply by telling your physics engine to rotate the whole body. In this case, however, I was looking for a simple solution that isn't perfect, but is fun to play. To make the problem simpler, I'll introduce a constraint:

Thrusters can only be on or off and they can't vary their thrust.

Now that we've abandoned perfection and complexity, the problem is a lot simpler. We need to determine, for each thruster, whether it should be on or off, depending on its position on the ship and the player's input. We could assign a different key for each thruster, but we'd end up with an interstellar QWOP, so we'll use the arrow keys for turning and moving, and Q and W for strafing.


The Simple Case: Moving the Ship Forwards and Backwards

The first order of business is to move the ship forwards and backwards, as this is the simplest possible case. To move the ship, we'll simply fire the thrusters facing in the direction opposite to the one we want to go. For example, if we wanted to go forward, we'd fire all the thrusters that face backwards.

Obviously, this will not always produce the desired effect. Due to the above constraint, if the thrusters aren't placed evenly, moving the ship could cause it to rotate. On top of that, it is not always possible to choose the right combination of thrusters to move a ship as needed. Sometimes, no combination of thrusters will move the ship the way we want. This is a desirable effect in my game, as it makes ship damage and bad ship design very obvious.

Gamedev Maths and Physics: Using Torque and Thrusters to Correctly Maneuver a Player-Designed Spaceship

A ship configuration that can't move backwards

Rotating the Ship

Gamedev Maths and Physics: Using Torque and Thrusters to Correctly Maneuver a Player-Designed Spaceship

In this example, it is obvious that firing thrusters A, D and E will cause the ship to rotate clockwise (and also drift somewhat, but that's a different problem altogether). Rotating the ship boils down to knowing in what way a thruster contributes to the rotation of the ship.

It turns out that what we're looking for here is the equation of torque - specifically the sign and magnitude of torque.

So let's take a look at what torque is. Torque is defined as a measure of how much a force acting on an object causes that object to rotate:

Gamedev Maths and Physics: Using Torque and Thrusters to Correctly Maneuver a Player-Designed Spaceship

Because we want to rotate the ship around its center of mass, our [latex]r[/latex] is the distance vector from the position of our thruster to the center of mass of the whole ship. The center of rotation could be any point, but the center of mass is probably the one a player would expect.

The force vector [latex]F[/latex] is a unit direction vector that describes the orientation of our thruster. In this case we don't care about the actual torque, only its sign, so it's okay to use just the direction vector.

Since cross product isn't defined for two dimensional vectors, we'll simply work with three dimensional vectors and set the [latex]z[/latex] component to 0, making the math simplify beautifully:

[latex]
\tau = r \times F \\
\tau = (r_x,\quad r_y,\quad 0) \times (F_x,\quad F_y,\quad 0) \\
\tau = (-0 \cdot F_y + r_y \cdot 0,\quad 0 \cdot F_x - r_x \cdot 0,\quad -r_y \cdot F_x + r_x \cdot F_y) \\
\tau = (0,\quad 0,\quad -r_y \cdot F_x + r_x \cdot F_y) \\
\tau_z = r_x \cdot F_y - r_y \cdot F_x \\
[/latex]

Gamedev Maths and Physics: Using Torque and Thrusters to Correctly Maneuver a Player-Designed Spaceship

The colored circles describe how the thruster affects the ship: green indicates the thruster causes the ship to rotate clockwise, red indicates it causes the ship to rotate counter-clockwise. The size of each circle indicates how much that thruster affects the ship's rotation.

With this in place, we can calculate how each thruster affects the ship individually. A positive return value indicates that the thruster will cause the ship to rotate clockwise, and vice-versa. Implementing this in code is very straightforward:


Conclusion

The demonstrated solution is easy to implement and works well for a game of this type. Of course, there is room for improvement: this tutorial and the demo don't take into consideration that a ship might be piloted by something other than a human player, and implementing an AI pilot that can actually fly a half-destroyed ship would be a very interesting challenge (one I'll have to face at some point, anyway).

Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.