Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Game Development
  2. Tile-Based Games

Wie man Tile Bitmasking verwendet, um Ihre Level-Layouts automatisch zu kacheln

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Alex Grigorovich (you can also view the original English article)

Die Herstellung eines optisch ansprechenden und abwechslungsreichen Kachelsets ist ein zeitaufwändiger Prozess, aber die Ergebnisse sind es oft wert. Aber auch nach dem Erstellen der Kunst müssen Sie alles in Ihrem Level zusammenfügen!

Sie können jede Kachel einzeln von Hand platzieren - oder Sie können den Prozess mithilfe der Bitmaske automatisieren, sodass Sie nur die Form des Geländes zeichnen müssen.

Was ist Tile Bitmasking?

What is tile bitmaskingWhat is tile bitmaskingWhat is tile bitmasking

Tile Bitmasking ist eine Methode zur automatischen Auswahl des geeigneten Sprites aus einem definierten Kachelsatz. Auf diese Weise können Sie eine generische Platzhalterkachel überall dort platzieren, wo ein bestimmter Geländetyp angezeigt werden soll, anstatt eine potenziell enorme Auswahl verschiedener Kacheln von Hand zu platzieren.

Sehen Sie sich dieses Video für eine Demonstration an:

(Sie können die Demos und Quelldateien vom GitHub-Repo herunterladen.)

Bei mehreren Geländetypen kann die Anzahl der verschiedenen Variationen 300 oder mehr Kacheln überschreiten. Das Zeichnen dieser vielen verschiedenen Sprites ist definitiv ein zeitaufwändiger Prozess, aber Tile Bitmasking von Kacheln stellt sicher, dass das Platzieren dieser Kacheln schnell und effizient erfolgt.

Mit einer statischen Implementierung von Bitmasking werden Maps zur Laufzeit generiert. Mit ein paar kleinen Änderungen können Sie die Bitmaske erweitern, um dynamische Kacheln zu ermöglichen, die sich während des Spiels ändern. In diesem Tutorial werden wir die Grundlagen von Tile Bitmasking behandeln und uns auf kompliziertere Implementierungen konzentrieren, die Eckkacheln und mehrere Geländetypen verwenden.

Wie man Tile Bitmasking funktioniert

Überblick

Bei der Tile Bitmasking geht es darum, einen numerischen Wert zu berechnen und basierend auf diesem Wert ein bestimmtes Sprite zuzuweisen. Jede Kachel betrachtet ihre benachbarten Kacheln, um zu bestimmen, welches Sprite aus dem Satz sich selbst zugewiesen werden soll.

Jedes Sprite in einem Kachelsatz ist nummeriert, und der Bitmaskierungsprozess gibt eine Nummer zurück, die der Position eines Sprites im Kachelsatz entspricht. Zur Laufzeit wird die Bitmaskenprozedur ausgeführt und jede Kachel wird mit dem entsprechenden Sprite aktualisiert.

Example terrain sprite sheet for tile bitmaskingExample terrain sprite sheet for tile bitmaskingExample terrain sprite sheet for tile bitmasking

Das obige Sprite-Blatt besteht aus Geländekacheln mit allen möglichen Randkonfigurationen. Die Zahlen auf jeder Kachel stellen den Bitmaskenwert dar, den wir im nächsten Abschnitt berechnen werden. Im Moment ist es wichtig zu verstehen, wie sich der Bitmaskenwert auf das Geländekachelset bezieht. Die Sprites sind nacheinander angeordnet, sodass ein Bitmaskenwert von 0 das erste Sprite bis zu einem Wert von 15 zurückgibt, der das 16. Sprite zurückgibt.

Berechnung des Bitmasking-Werts

Die Berechnung dieses Wertes ist relativ einfach. In diesem Beispiel nehmen wir einen einzelnen Geländetyp ohne Eckstücke an.

Jede Kachel prüft, ob Kacheln im Norden, Westen, Osten und Süden vorhanden sind, und jede Prüfung gibt einen Booleschen Wert zurück, wobei 0 einen leeren Raum darstellt und 1 das Vorhandensein einer anderen Geländekachel anzeigt.

Dieses boolesche Ergebnis wird dann mit dem binären Richtungswert multipliziert und zur laufenden Summe des Bitmaskenwerts addiert - anhand einiger Beispiele ist dies leichter zu verstehen:

4-Bit-Richtungswerte

  • Norden = 20 = 1
  • West = 21 = 2
  • Ost = 22 = 4
  • Süd = 23 = 8
Tile bitmasking exampleTile bitmasking exampleTile bitmasking example

Das grüne Quadrat in der Abbildung oben repräsentiert die von uns berechnete Geländekachel. Wir beginnen mit der Suche nach einer Kachel im Norden. Da es im Norden keine Kachel gibt, gibt die Boolesche Prüfung den Wert 0 zurück. Wir multiplizieren 0 mit dem Richtungswert für Nord, 20 = 1, was 1*0 = 0 ergibt.

Für eine Geländekachel, die vollständig von Leerzeichen umgeben ist, gibt jede Boolesche Prüfung 0 zurück, was zur 4-Bit-Binärzahl 0000 oder 1*0 + 2*0 + 4*0 + 8*0 = 0 führt. Insgesamt gibt es 16 mögliche Kombinationen von 0 bis 15, daher wird das erste Sprite im Kachelsatz verwendet, um diese Art von Geländekacheln mit dem Wert 0 darzustellen.

Tile bitmasking exampleTile bitmasking exampleTile bitmasking example
Eine Geländekachel, die im Norden von einer einzelnen Kachel begrenzt wird, gibt einen Binärwert von 0001 oder 1*1+ 2*0+ 4*0+ 8*0 = 1 zurück. Das 2. Sprite im Kachelsatz wird zur Darstellung dieses Typs verwendet Gelände mit einem Wert von 1.
Tile bitmasking exampleTile bitmasking exampleTile bitmasking example

Eine Geländekachel, die im Norden von einer Kachel und im Osten von einer Kachel begrenzt wird, gibt einen Binärwert von 0101 oder 1*1 + 2*0 + 4*1 + 8*0 = 5 zurück. Das 6. Sprite im Kachelsatz ist wird verwendet, um diesen Geländetyp mit einem Wert von 5 darzustellen.

Tile bitmasking exampleTile bitmasking exampleTile bitmasking example

Eine Geländekachel, die im Osten von einer Kachel und im Westen von einer Kachel begrenzt wird, gibt einen Binärwert von 0110 oder 1*0 + 2*1 + 4*1 + 8*0 = 6 zurück. Das 7. Sprite im Kachelsatz ist wird verwendet, um diesen Geländetyp mit einem Wert von 6 darzustellen.

Zuweisen von Sprites zu Kacheln

Nach der Berechnung des Bitmaskenwerts einer Kachel weisen wir das entsprechende Sprite aus dem Kachelsatz zu. Dieser letzte Schritt kann in Echtzeit ausgeführt werden, während die Karte geladen wird, oder das Ergebnis kann gespeichert und zur weiteren Bearbeitung in den Kacheleditor Ihrer Wahl geladen werden.

Tile bitmasking how tiles are assigned based on the terrains shapeTile bitmasking how tiles are assigned based on the terrains shapeTile bitmasking how tiles are assigned based on the terrains shape

Die Abbildung links zeigt ein 4-Bit-Kachelset für ein einzelnes Gelände, wie es nacheinander auf einem Kachelblatt angezeigt wird. Die Abbildung rechts zeigt, wie die Kacheln im Spiel aussehen, nachdem sie mithilfe des Bitmasking-Verfahrens platziert wurden. Jedes Plättchen ist mit seinem Bitmaskenwert markiert, um die Beziehung zwischen der Reihenfolge eines Plättchens auf dem Plättchenblatt und seiner Position im Spiel anzuzeigen.

Lassen Sie uns als Beispiel die Kachel in der oberen rechten Ecke der Abbildung rechts untersuchen. Diese Kachel wird im Westen und in Souh von Kacheln begrenzt. Die Boolesche Prüfung gibt einen Binärwert von 1010 oder 1*0 + 2*1 + 4*0 + 8*1 = 10 zurück. Dieser Wert entspricht dem 11. Sprite im Kachelblatt.

Kachelsatzkomplexität

Die Anzahl der erforderlichen Booleschen Richtungsprüfungen hängt von der beabsichtigten Komplexität Ihres Kachelsatzes ab. Wenn Sie Eckstücke ignorieren, können Sie diese vereinfachte 4-Bit-Lösung verwenden, für die nur vier Richtungs-Binärprüfungen erforderlich sind.

Aber was passiert, wenn Sie ein optisch ansprechenderes Terrain schaffen möchten? Sie müssen sich mit der Existenz von Eckplättchen auseinandersetzen, wodurch sich die Anzahl der Sprites von 16 auf 48 erhöht. Das folgende 8-Bit-Bitmaskenbeispiel erfordert acht Boolesche Richtungsprüfungen pro Kachel.

8-Bit-Bitmaske mit Eckkacheln

In diesem Beispiel erstellen wir ein Top-Down-Kachelset, das grasbewachsenes Gelände in der Nähe des Ozeans darstellt. In diesem Fall befindet sich unser Ozean auf einer Schicht unter den Geländekacheln. Dies ermöglicht es uns, eine Single-Terrain-Lösung zu verwenden und gleichzeitig die Illusion aufrechtzuerhalten, dass zwei Terrain-Typen kollidieren.

Sobald das Spiel läuft und der Bitmasking-Vorgang abgeschlossen ist, werden sich die Sprites nie mehr ändern. Dies ist eine nahtlose, statische Implementierung von Bitmasking, bei der alles stattfindet, bevor der Spieler die Kacheln sieht.

Eckfliesen vorstellen

Wir möchten, dass das Gelände optisch interessanter ist als die vorherige 4-Bit-Lösung, daher sind Eckstücke erforderlich. Diese zusätzliche visuelle Komplexität erfordert eine exponentielle Menge zusätzlicher Arbeit für den Künstler, den Programmierer und das Spiel selbst. Wenn wir das erweitern, was wir aus der 4-Bit-Lösung gelernt haben, können wir schnell verstehen, wie wir uns der 8-Bit-Lösung nähern.

A sprite sheet of an example tilesetA sprite sheet of an example tilesetA sprite sheet of an example tileset

Hier ist das komplette Sprite-Blatt für unsere Geländekacheln am Meer. Merkst du etwas Besonderes an der Anzahl der Kacheln? Das 4-Bit-Beispiel von früher ergab 24 = 16 Kacheln, daher sollte dieses 8-Bit-Beispiel sicherlich 28 = 256 Kacheln ergeben, aber es gibt deutlich weniger als das dort.

Zwar führt diese 8-Bit-Bitmaskenprozedur zu 256 möglichen Binärwerten, doch erfordert nicht jede Kombination eine völlig eindeutige Kachel. Das folgende Beispiel erklärt, wie 256 Kombinationen durch nur 48 Kacheln dargestellt werden können.

8-Bit-Richtungswerte

  • Nordwesten = 20 = 1
  • Norden = 21 = 2
  • Nordosten = 22 = 4
  • West = 23 = 8
  • Ost = 24 = 16
  • Südwesten = 25 = 32
  • Süd = 26 = 64
  • Südosten = 27 = 128
Tile bitmasking 8-bit exampleTile bitmasking 8-bit exampleTile bitmasking 8-bit example

Jetzt führen wir acht boolesche Richtungsprüfungen durch. Die mittlere Kachel oben wird im Norden, Nordosten und Osten von Kacheln begrenzt, sodass diese Boolesche Prüfung einen Binärwert von 00010110 oder 1*0 + 2* 1 + 4*1 + 8*0 + 16*1 + 32*0 + 64*0 + 128*0 = 22 zurückgibt .

Tile bitmasking 8-bit exampleTile bitmasking 8-bit exampleTile bitmasking 8-bit example

Die Kachel links oben ähnelt der vorherigen Kachel, wird aber jetzt auch von Kacheln im Südwesten und Südosten begrenzt. Diese boolesche Richtungsprüfung sollte einen Binärwert von 10110110 oder 1*0 + 2*1 + 4*1 + 8*0 + 16*1 + 32*1 + 64*0 + 128*1 = 182 zurückgeben.

Dieser Wert unterscheidet sich von der vorherigen Kachel, aber beide Kacheln wären tatsächlich visuell identisch, sodass sie redundant werden.

Um die Redundanzen zu beseitigen, fügen wir unserer booleschen Richtungsprüfung eine zusätzliche Bedingung hinzu: Wenn wir prüfen, ob angrenzende Eckkacheln vorhanden sind, müssen wir auch in den vier Hauptrichtungen (direkt Nord, Ost, Süd oder West) nach benachbarten Kacheln suchen. .

Beispielsweise wird die Kachel im Nordosten von vorhandenen Kacheln benachbart, während dies bei den Kacheln im Südwesten und Südosten nicht der Fall ist. Dies bedeutet, dass die Kacheln Südwesten und Südosten nicht in die Bitmaskenberechnung einbezogen werden.

Mit dieser neuen Bedingung gibt diese Boolesche Prüfung einen Binärwert von 00010110 oder 1*0 + 2*1 + 4*1 + 8*0 + 16*1 + 32*0 + 64*0 + 128*0 = 22 zurück Vor. Jetzt können Sie sehen, wie die 256 Kombinationen durch nur 48 Kacheln dargestellt werden können.

Tile bestellen

Ein weiteres Problem, das Sie möglicherweise bemerken, besteht darin, dass die durch das 8-Bit-Bitmaskierungsverfahren berechneten Werte nicht mehr mit der Reihenfolge der Kacheln im Sprite-Blatt korrelieren. Es gibt nur 48 Kacheln, aber unsere möglichen berechneten Werte reichen von 0 bis 255, sodass wir den berechneten Wert nicht mehr als direkte Referenz verwenden können, wenn wir das entsprechende Sprite greifen.

Was wir daher brauchen, ist eine Datenstruktur, die die Liste der berechneten Werte und ihre entsprechenden Kachelwerte enthält. Wie Sie dies implementieren möchten, liegt bei Ihnen. Denken Sie jedoch daran, dass die Reihenfolge, in der Sie nach umgebenden Kacheln suchen, die Reihenfolge vorgibt, in der Ihre Kacheln im Sprite-Blatt platziert werden sollen.

In diesem Beispiel suchen wir in der folgenden Reihenfolge nach angrenzenden Kacheln: Nordwesten, Norden, Nordosten, Westen, Osten, Südwesten, Süden, Südosten.

Nachfolgend finden Sie den vollständigen Satz von Bitmaskenwerten, die sich auf die Positionen der Kacheln in unserem Sprite-Blatt beziehen (Sie können diese Werte in Ihrem Projekt verwenden, um Zeit zu sparen):

Mehrere Geländetypen

Alle unsere vorherigen Beispiele gehen von einem einzelnen Geländetyp aus. Was ist jedoch, wenn wir der Gleichung ein zweites Gelände hinzufügen? Wir brauchen eine 5-Bit-Bitmaskenlösung und müssen unsere beiden Geländetypen definieren. Wir müssen der mittleren Kachel auch einen Wert zuweisen, der nur unter bestimmten Bedingungen gezählt wird. Denken Sie daran, dass wir nicht mehr wie in den vorherigen Beispielen "leeren Raum" berücksichtigen. Fliesen müssen nun allseitig von einer weiteren Fliese umgeben sein.

Tile bitmasking 8-bit example with multiple terrain typesTile bitmasking 8-bit example with multiple terrain typesTile bitmasking 8-bit example with multiple terrain types

Die obige Abbildung zeigt ein Beispiel mit zwei Geländetypen und ohne Eckkacheln. Typ 1 gibt immer den Wert 0 zurück, wenn er während der Richtungsprüfung erkannt wird. Der mittlere Kachelwert wird nur berechnet und verwendet, wenn es sich um Geländetyp 2 handelt.

Die mittlere Kachel im obigen Beispiel ist im Norden, Westen und Osten vom Geländetyp 2 und im Süden vom Geländetyp 1 umgeben. Die mittlere Kachel ist Geländetyp 1, wird also nicht gezählt. Diese Boolesche Prüfung gibt einen Binärwert von 00111 oder 1*1 + 2*1 + 4*1 + 8*0 + 16*0 = 7 zurück.

Tile bitmasking 8-bit example with multiple terrain typesTile bitmasking 8-bit example with multiple terrain typesTile bitmasking 8-bit example with multiple terrain types

In diesem Beispiel ist unsere mittlere Kachel Geländetyp 2, daher wird sie bei der Berechnung berücksichtigt. Die mittlere Kachel ist im Norden und Westen von Gelände Typ 2 umgeben. Es ist auch von Gelände Typ 1 im Osten und Süden umgeben. Diese Boolesche Prüfung gibt einen Binärwert von 10011 oder 1*1 + 2*1 + 4*0 + 8*0 + 16*1 = 19 zurück.

Dynamische Implementierung

Die Bitmaskenberechnung kann auch während des Spiels durchgeführt werden, um Änderungen der Platzierung und des Erscheinungsbilds der Kacheln in Echtzeit zu ermöglichen. Dies ist nützlich für zerstörbares Gelände sowie für Spiele, die das Basteln und Bauen ermöglichen. Das anfängliche Bitmaskierungsverfahren ist für alle Kacheln obligatorisch, zusätzliche dynamische Berechnungen sollten jedoch nur durchgeführt werden, wenn dies unbedingt erforderlich ist. Beispielsweise würde eine zerstörte Geländekachel die Bitmaskenberechnung nur für umgebende Kacheln auslösen.

Abschluss

Tile Bitmasking ist das perfekte Beispiel für den Aufbau eines funktionierenden Systems, das Sie bei der Spieleentwicklung unterstützt. Es ist nicht etwas, das sich direkt auf die Erfahrung des Spielers auswirkt. Stattdessen bietet diese Methode zur Automatisierung eines zeitaufwändigen Teils des Level-Designs dem Entwickler einen wertvollen Vorteil. Einfach ausgedrückt: Tile Bitmasking ist eine schnelle Möglichkeit, das Spiel dazu zu bringen, Ihre Drecksarbeit zu erledigen, sodass Sie sich auf wichtigere Aufgaben konzentrieren können.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Game Development
  2. Tile-Based Games
Gamedevelopment

How to Use Tile Bitmasking to Auto-Tile Your Level Layouts

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Crafting a visually appealing and varied tileset is a time consuming process, but the results are often worth it. However, even after creating the art, you still have to piece it all together within your level! 

You can place each tile, one by one, by hand—or, you can automate the process by using bitmasking, so you only need to draw the shape of the terrain.

What is Tile Bitmasking?

What is tile bitmasking

Tile bitmasking is a method for automatically selecting the appropriate sprite from a defined tileset. This allows you to place a generic placeholder tile everywhere you want a particular type of terrain to appear instead of hand placing a potentially enormous selection of various tiles. 

See this video for a demonstration:

(You can download the demos and source files from the GitHub repo.)

When dealing with multiple types of terrain, the number of different variations can exceed 300 or more tiles. Drawing this many different sprites is definitely a time-consuming process, but tile bitmasking ensures that the act of placing these tiles is quick and efficient.

With a static implementation of bitmasking, maps are generated at runtime. With a few small tweaks, you can expand bitmasking to allow for dynamic tiles that change during gameplay. In this tutorial, we will cover the basics of tile bitmasking while working our way towards more complicated implementations that use corner tiles and multiple terrain types.

How Tile Bitmasking Works

Overview

Tile bitmasking is all about calculating a numerical value and assigning a specific sprite based on that value. Each tile looks at its neighboring tiles to determine which sprite from the set to assign to itself. 

Every sprite in a tileset is numbered, and the bitmasking process returns a number corresponding to the position of a sprite in the tileset. At runtime, the bitmasking procedure is performed, and every tile is updated with the appropriate sprite.

Example terrain sprite sheet for tile bitmasking

The sprite sheet above consists of terrain tiles with all of the possible border configurations. The numbers on each tile represent the bitmasking value, which we will learn how to calculate in the next section. For now, it's important to understand how the bitmasking value relates to the terrain tileset. The sprites are ordered sequentially so that a bitmasking value of 0 returns the first sprite, all the way to a value of 15 which returns the 16th sprite. 

Calculating the Bitmasking Value

Calculating this value is relatively simple. In this example, we are assuming a single terrain type with no corner pieces. 

Each tile checks for the existence of tiles to the North, West, East, and South, and each check returns a Boolean, where 0 represents an empty space and 1 signifies the presence of another terrain tile. 

This Boolean result is then multiplied by the binary directional value and added to the running total of the bitmasking value—it's easier to understand with some examples:

4-bit Directional Values

  • North = 20 = 1
  • West = 21 = 2
  • East = 22 = 4
  • South = 23 = 8
Tile bitmasking example

The green square in the figure above represents the terrain tile we are calculating. We start by checking for a tile to the North. There is no tile to the North, so the Boolean check returns a value of 0. We multiply 0 by the directional value for North, 20 = 1, giving us 1*0 = 0

For a terrain tile surrounded entirely by empty space, every Boolean check returns 0, resulting in the 4-bit binary number 0000 or 1*0 + 2*0 + 4*0 + 8*0 = 0. There are 16 total possible combinations, from 0 to 15, so the 1st sprite in the tileset will be used to represent this type of terrain tile with a value of 0.

Tile bitmasking example
A terrain tile bordered by a single tile to the North returns a binary value of 0001, or 1*1 + 2*0 + 4*0 + 8*0 = 1. The 2nd sprite in the tileset will be used to represent this type of terrain with a value of 1.
Tile bitmasking example

A terrain tile bordered by a tile to the North and a tile to the East returns a binary value of 0101, or 1*1 + 2*0 + 4*1 + 8*0 = 5. The 6th sprite in the tileset will be used to represent this type of terrain with a value of 5.

Tile bitmasking example

A terrain tile bordered by a tile to the East and a tile to the West returns a binary value of 0110, or 1*0 + 2*1 + 4*1 + 8*0 = 6. The 7th sprite in the tileset will be used to represent this type of terrain with a value of 6.

Assigning Sprites to Tiles

After calculating a tile's bitmasking value, we assign the appropriate sprite from the tileset. This final step can be performed in real time as the map loads, or the result can be saved and loaded into your tile editor of choice for further editing.

Tile bitmasking how tiles are assigned based on the terrains shape

The figure on the left represents a 4-bit, single-terrain tileset as it would appear sequentially on a tile sheet. The figure on the right depicts how the tiles look in-game after they are placed using the bitmasking procedure. Each tile is marked with its bitmasking value to show the relationship between a tile’s order on the tile sheet and its position in the game. 

As an example, let’s examine the tile in the upper-right corner of the figure on the right. This tile is bordered by tiles to the West and Souh. The Boolean check returns a binary value of 1010, or 1*0 + 2*1 + 4*0 + 8*1 = 10. This value corresponds to the 11th sprite in the tile sheet.

Tileset Complexity

The number of required directional Boolean checks depends on the intended complexity of your tileset. By ignoring corner pieces, you can use this simplified 4-bit solution that only requires four directional binary checks. 

But what happens when you want to create more visually appealing terrain? You will need to deal with the existence of corner tiles, which increases the amount of sprites from 16 to 48. The following 8-bit bitmasking example requires eight Boolean directional checks per tile.

8-Bit Bitmasking with Corner Tiles

For this example, we are creating a top-down tileset that depicts grassy terrain near the ocean. In this case, our ocean exists on a layer underneath the terrain tiles. This allows us to use a single-terrain solution, while still maintaining the illusion that two terrain types are colliding. 

Once the game is running and the bitmasking procedure is complete, the sprites will never change. This is a seamless, static implementation of bitmasking where everything takes place before the player ever sees the tiles.

Introducing Corner Tiles

We want the terrain to be more visually interesting than the previous 4-bit solution, so corner pieces are required. This extra bit of visual complexity requires an exponential amount of additional work for the artist, programmer, and the game itself. By expanding on what we learned from the 4-bit solution, we can quickly understand how to approach the 8-bit solution.

A sprite sheet of an example tileset

Here is the complete sprite sheet for our ocean-side terrain tiles. Do you notice anything peculiar about the number of tiles? The 4-bit example from earlier resulted in 24 = 16 tiles, so this 8-bit example should surely result in 28 = 256 tiles, yet there are clearly fewer than that there. 

While it’s true that this 8-bit bitmasking procedure results in 256 possible binary values, not every combination requires an entirely unique tile. The following example will help explain how 256 combinations can be represented by only 48 tiles.

8-bit Directional Values

  • North West = 20 = 1
  • North = 21 = 2
  • North East = 22 = 4
  • West = 23 = 8
  • East = 24 = 16
  • South West = 25 = 32
  • South= 26 = 64
  • South East = 27 = 128
Tile bitmasking 8-bit example

Now we're making eight Boolean directional checks. The center tile above is bordered by tiles to the North, North-East, and East, so this Boolean check returns a binary value of 00010110 or 1*0 + 2*1 + 4*1 + 8*0 + 16*1 + 32*0 + 64*0 + 128*0 = 22.

Tile bitmasking 8-bit example

The tile on the left above is similar to the previous tile, but now it is also bordered by tiles to the South West and South East. This Boolean directional check should return a binary value of 10110110, or 1*0 + 2*1 + 4*1 + 8*0 + 16*1 + 32*1 + 64*0 + 128*1 = 182

This value is different from the previous tile, but both tiles would actually be visually identical, so it becomes redundant. 

To eliminate the redundancies, we add an extra condition to our Boolean directional check: when checking for the presence of bordering corner tiles, we also have to check for neighboring tiles in the four cardinal directions (directly North, East, South, or West). 

For example, the tile to the North-East is neighbored by existing tiles, whereas the tiles to the South-West and South-East are not. This means that the South-West and South-East tiles are not included in the bitmasking calculation. 

With this new condition, this Boolean check returns a binary value of 00010110 or 1*0 + 2*1 + 4*1 + 8*0 + 16*1 + 32*0 + 64*0 + 128*0 = 22 just like before. Now you can see how the 256 combinations can be represented by only 48 tiles.

Tile Order

Another problem you may notice is that the values calculated by the 8-bit bitmasking procedure no longer correlate to the sequential order of the tiles in the sprite sheet. There are only 48 tiles, but our possible calculated values range from 0 to 255, so we can no longer use the calculated value as a direct reference when grabbing the appropriate sprite. 

What we need, therefore, is a data structure to contain the list of calculated values and their corresponding tile values. How you want to implement this is up to you, but remember that the order in which you check for surrounding tiles dictates the order in which your tiles should be placed in the sprite sheet. 

For this example, we check for bordering tiles in the following order: North-West, North, North-East, West, East, South-West, South, South-East. 

Below is the complete set of bitmasking values as they relate to the positions of tiles in our sprite sheet (feel free to use these values in your project to save time):

Multiple Terrain Types

All of our previous examples assume a single terrain type, but what if we introduce a second terrain to the equation? We need a 5-bit bitmasking solution, and we need to define our two terrain types. We also need to assign a value to the center tile that is only counted under specific conditions. Remember that we are no longer accounting for "empty space" as in the previous examples; tiles must now be surrounded by another tile on all sides.

Tile bitmasking 8-bit example with multiple terrain types

The above figure shows an example with two terrain types and no corner tiles. Type 1 always returns a value of 0 whenever it is detected during the directional check; the center tile value is calculated and used only if it is terrain type 2. 

The center tile in the above example is surrounded by terrain type 2 to the North, West, and East, and by terrain type 1 to the South. The center tile is terrain type 1, so it is not counted. This Boolean check returns a binary value of  00111, or  1*1 + 2*1 + 4*1 + 8*0 + 16*0 = 7.

Tile bitmasking 8-bit example with multiple terrain types

In this example, our center tile is terrain type 2, so it will be counted in the calculation. The center tile is surrounded by terrain type 2 to the North and West. It is also surrounded by terrain type 1 to the East and South. This Boolean check returns a binary value of  10011, or  1*1 + 2*1 + 4*0 + 8*0 + 16*1 = 19 .

Dynamic Implementation

The bitmasking calculation can also be performed during gameplay, allowing for real-time changes in tile placement and appearance. This is useful for destructible terrain as well as games that allow for crafting and building. The initial bitmasking procedure is mandatory for all tiles, but any additional dynamic calculations should only be performed when absolutely necessary. For example, a destroyed terrain tile would trigger the bitmasking calculation only for surrounding tiles.

Conclusion

Tile bitmasking is the perfect example of building a working system to aid you in game development. It is not something that directly impacts the player's experience; instead, this method of automating a time-consuming portion of level design provides a valuable benefit to the developer. To put it simply: tile bitmasking is a quick way to make the game do your dirty work, allowing you to focus on more important tasks.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.