Students Save 30%! Learn & create with unlimited courses & creative assets Students Save 30%! Save Now
Advertisement
  1. Game Development
  2. Unity 3D
Gamedevelopment

تخطيط العمل الموجه بهدف لذكاء اصطناعي أكثر دهاءً-ذكاءً-.

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by osamagaradh (you can also view the original English article)

تخطيط العمل الموجه بهدف هو نظام ذكاء اصطناعي سيعطى بسهولة ادواتك الخيارات والأدوات اللازمة لاتخاذ قرارات ذكية بدون الحاجة للحفاظ على آلة محدودة الحالات و كبيرة.

استعراض العرض التوضيحي

في هذا العرض التوضيحي، هناك أربع فئات من الشخصيات، جميعهم يستخدمون ادوات تعطل بعد استخدامها لفترة من الوقت:

  • عامل تنقيب: يُنقّب عن معدن خام في الصخور. يحتاج إلى أداة للعمل.
  • قاطع اشجار: يقطع الأشجار لإنتاج قطع اشجار. يحتاج إلى أداة للعمل.
  • قاطع الأخشاب: يقطع الأشجار إلى خشب قابل للاستخدام. يحتاج إلى أداة للعمل.
  • حداد: يطرق الأدوات الحديدية في المحددة. كل شخص يستخدم هذه الأدوات.

كل فئة ستعرف تلقائياً، باستخدام تخطيط العمل الموجه بهدف,ما هي الإجراءات التي يحتاجونها  للوصول إلى أهدافهم. إذا تعطلت اداتهم، سوف يذهبون إلى كومة تزويد الادوات والتي واحدة منها ستكون صنعت بواسطة الحداد.

ما هو تخطيط العمل الموجه بهدف ؟

تخطيط العمل الموجه بهدف هو نظام ذكاء اصطناعي لعملاء يسمح لهم بتخطيط تسلسل من الإجراءات لتلبية هدف معين. تسلسل الإجراءات المعين يعتمد ليس فقط على الهدف، ولكن أيضا على الحالة الراهنة للعالم والاداة. وهذا يعني أنه إذا تم توفير نفس الهدف لادوات مختلفة أو لدول العالم، يمكنك الحصول على تسلسل مختلف تماما من الإجراءات.، مما يجعل الذكاء الاصطناعي أكثر ديناميكية وواقعية. دعونا ننظرالى مثال، كما هو مبين في العرض التوضيحي أعلاه.

لدينا اداة، قاطعة خشب، تأخذ قطع خشب الاشجار وتقطعهم إلى حطب. القاطعة يمكن تزويدها بالهدف MakeFirewood، والإجراءات  ChopLog و GetAxe و CollectBranches

الإجراءChopLogالذي سوف يحول خشب الاشجارالى حطب، ولكن فقط إذا كان لدى قاطعة الخشب فأس. اجراء GetAxe ستمنح قاطعة الخشب فأس. أخيرا، الاجراء CollectBranches سوف ينتج الحطب كذلك، دون اشتراط فأس، لكن الحطب لن تكون عالية الجودة.

عندما نعطي الاداة هدف MakeFirewood، نحصل على  تسلسلين من الاجراءات المختلفة هذه :

  • تحتاج حطب-> GetAxe -> ChopLog = يصنع الحطب
  • تحتاج حطب-> CollectBranches = يصنع الحطب

إذا كان يمكن للاداة الحصول على فأس، اذا يمكنها تقطيع قطع الاشجار لصنع حطب. ولكن ربما لا يمكنها ان تحصل على فأس؛ وقتها، يمكنهم فقط الذهاب وجمع الفروع. اي من هذه التسلسلات ستفي بهدف MakeFirewood .

تخطيط العمل الموجه بهدف يمكنها اختيار التسلسل الأفضل استناداً إلى شروط مسبقة تتوفر. إذا لم يكن هناك فأس يدوية، اذا قاطعة الأخشاب تحتاج الى التقاط فروع. التقاط الفروع يمكن أن يستغرق وقتاً طويلاً حقاً ويسفر عن رداءة نوعية الحطب، اذا اننا لا نريد تشغيله طوال الوقت، فقط عندما يجب.

لمن -GOAP- تخطيط العمل الموجه بهدف

أنت، الآن، تعرف الآلات المحدودة الحالات (FSM) جيدا، لكن إذا لا، اذا القي نظرة على هذا البرنامج التعليمي الرائع.

ربما دخلت في حالات من التعقيد باستخدام ادوات آلاتك الكبيرة المحدودة FSM، حيث تحصل في نهاية المطاف إلى نقطة حيث لا تريد إضافة سلوكيات اواجراءات  جديدة لأنها ستسبب الكثير من الآثار الجانبية والثغرات في مستوى الذكاء الاصطناعي.

GOAP تحول هذا:

 آلالات المحدودة الحالات: متصلة في كل مكان.

الى هذا

GOAP: رائعة ويمكن التحكم فيها.


بفصل الإجراءات عن بعضها البعض، يمكن أن نركز الآن على كل إجراء على حدى. هذا يجعل الكود البرمجية نمطي، وسهل للاختبار والصيانة. إذا كنت ترغب في إضافة في اجراء آخر، يمكنك القيام بذالك، ولا إجراءات أخرى قد يتعين عليك تغييرها. حاول القيام بذلك مع الآلات المحدودة الحالات !

أيضا، يمكنك إضافة أو إزالة اجراءات على الطاير لتغيير سلوك الاداة ولجعلهم أكثر ديناميكية. كما لو انك تملك غولاً وفجأة غضب واستعر؟ تعطي لهم إجراء جديد "هجوم غاضب" الذي يزول عند هدوءهم. ببساطة إضافة الإجراء إلى قائمة الإجراءات هو كل ما عليك القيام به؛ مخطط GOAP سوف يتولى الامور الباقية.

إذا وجدت ان لديك الآلات المحدودة الحالات معقدة جداً للادوات الخاصة بك، اذا يجب إعطاء GOAP محاولة. واحدة من االعلامات على ان الآلات المحدودة الحالات خاصتك تتعقد جدا هو عندما تكون كل حالة لها عدد وافر من عبارات if-else يجب ان تختبرهم جميعا للوصول الى الحالة التي تقود إلى التالي، وإضافة حالة جديدة يجعلك  تتأوه على جميع الآثار التي من المحتمل أن تحصل لها.

إذا كان لديك اداة بسيطة جداً تقوم بأداء مهام واحد أو اثنين فقط، اذا قد تكون هنا GOAP ستكون عالية التكلفة بعض الشيء وستكون الآلات المحدودة الحالات  FSM كافية. ومع ذلك، يجدر النظر في المفاهيم هنا ورؤية ما إذا كان سيكون سهل بما يكفي لتتمكن من توصيله مع اداتك.

الإجراءات

الإجراء هو الشيء الذي تفعله الاداة. عادة هو مجرد تشغيل رسوم متحركة وصوت، وتغيير قليل للحالة (على سبيل المثال، إضافة حطب). فتح باب هو اجراء مختلف (رسوم متحركة) اكثر من التقاط قلم رصاص. الإجراء مغلف، ولا ينبغي أن تقلق بشأن الإجراءات الأخرى.

لمساعدة GOAP في تحديد الإجراءات التي نريد أن نستخدمها،. كل إجراء يعطى تكلفة ,ولن يختارالاجراء صاحب التكلفة العالية على حساب المنخفضة . عندما نسلسل الإجراءات معا، نضيف التكاليف وثم نختار التسلسل صاحب الأقل تكلفة.

هيا نعيين بعض التكاليف للإجراءات:

  • تكلفة GetAxe هي 2
  • تكلفة ChopLog هي4
  • تكلفة CollectBranches هي8

 ننظر على تسلسل الإجراءات مرة أخرى ونضيف إجمالي التكاليف، سوف نرى ما هو أرخص تسلسل:

  • يحتاج حطب-> (GetAxe (2 >ثم ChopLog (4 = اصنع حطب (المجموع: 6)
  • يحتاج الحطب->  (8)CollectBranches = يصنع حطب (المجموع: 8)

جلب فاس وتقطيع قطع الاشجار ينتج حطب الوقود بتكلفة أقل من 6، في حين جمع الفروع ينتج حطب بتكلفة أعلى من 8. لذا، اداتنا تختارجلب فاس وقطع الخشب.

ولكن لن يعمل هذا التسلسل طوال الوقت؟ الا اذا وضعنا شروط مسبقة تمكنه...

شروط مسبقة واثارها

الإجراءات لديها شروط مسبقة واثارها الناتجة . شرط مسبق هو الحالة المطلوبة للإجراء ليعمل، والآثار الناتجة هي التغيير إلى الحالة المخصصة بعد تشغيل الإجراء.

على سبيل المثال، يتطلب الإجراء ChopLog  أن يكون لدى الاداة فأساً يدوية. إذا لم تملك الاداة فأس، فإنها تحتاج إلى ايجاد اجراء آخر يستوفي الشرط المسبق بغية السماح بتشغيل الإجراء ChopLog. لحسن الحظ، الإجراء GetAxeيفعل ذلك – هذا هو أثرالاجراء.

مخطط 

مخطط GOAP هو جزء من التعليمات البرمجية التي تنظر في الشروط المسبقة للإجراءات واثارها، وينشىء صفوف من الإجراءات التي سوف تتم هدف. وذاك الهدف تزوده الاداة، جنبا إلى جنب مع أي حالة عالمية، وقائمة بالإجراءات التي يمكن أن تؤديها الاداة. مع هذه المعلومات مخطط  GOAP يمكنه ترتيب الإجراءات, النظرفي التي يمكن تشغيلها والتي لا يمكن وثم التقريراي الإجراءات التي هي الأفضل لأداءها. لحسن حظك، لقد كتبت هذا الكود، حتى لا تضطرلذلك.

لإعداد هذا، هيا نضيف شروط مسبقة والآثار الناتجة عنها لاجراءات قاطعة الخشب  خاصتنا:

  • تكلفةGetAxe:هي 2 شروط مسبقة: " الفاس متوفرة"، "لا تملك بفاس". النتيجة : "تملك فاس".
  • تكلفة ChopLog : هي4- شروط مسبقة: "تمتلك فاس". النتيجة: "تصنع حطب"
  • تكلفة CollectBranches: هي 8- شروط مسبقة: (بلا). النتيجة: "صنع حطب".

 مخطط GOAP الآن تمتلك المعلومات اللازمة لترتيب تسلسل الإجراءات الرامية لصنع الحطب (هدفنا).

نبدأ بتوفير "مخطط GOAP " مع الحالة الراهنة العالمية وحالة الاداة. هذه الحالة العالمية المُركّبة هي:

  • "لا تملك فاس"
  •  "فاس متوفرة"
  • "الشمس مشرقة"

بالنظر لاجراءاتنا الحالية المتاحة، الجزء الوحيد من الحالات ذات الصلة بها هي "لا تملك فاس" و"فاس متوفرة"؛ قد يتم استخدام الحالة الأخرى لادوات أخرى مع إجراءات أخرى.

حسنا، لدينا حالتنا العالمية الحالية واجراءتنا (مع شروطها المسبقة ونتائجها)، والهدف. دعونا نخطط!

سيمر المخطط خلال الإجراءات الأخرى، أيضا، و لن يتوقف فقط عندما يجد حلاً للهدف. ماذا إذا كان لديه تسلسل آخر بتكلفة أقل؟ سيمر خلال جميع الإمكانيات لإيجاد أفضل حل.

عندما تخطط، فإنه تبني شجرة. في كل مرة يتم تطبيق إجراء، يبرز خارج قائمة الإجراءات المتاحة، اذا لا نملك سلسلة من الجراءات GetAxe 50 بالعودة للخلف. يتم تغيير الحالة وفقا لنتيجة هذا الإجراء.

الشجرة التي يبنيها المخطط تبدو مثل هذا:

يمكننا أن نرى أنها ستجد فعلا ثلاثة مسارات للهدف مع تكاليفها الإجمالية:

  • GetAxe  ->-ChopLog(المجموع :6)
  • GetAxe -> CollectBranches (المجموع :10)
  • CollectBranches (المجموع: 8)

بالرغم من ان GetAxe -> CollectBranches  تعمل,ارخص مسار هو GetAxe  -> ChopLog. اذن هاذا المسار تعود اليه

كيف الشروط المسبقة، وآثارها فعلا يبدوان في الكود البرمجي؟ حسنا، هذا متروك لك، ولكن قد وجدت أنه من الأسهل أن تقوم بتخزينها كزوج مفاتح-قيمة، حيث ان المفتاح هو دائماً سلسلي والقيمة هي هدف او نوع بدائي  (عائم، باحث، منطقي، أو ما شابه). في #سي،  يمكن أن يبدو مثل هذا:

عندما يتم تنفيذ الإجراء، ماذا هذه الآثار تبدو فعلا وماذا يفعلون؟ حسنا، ليس عليهم ان يفعلوا شيء – انهم  فقط يستخدموا للتخطيط، ولا يؤثروا على حالة الاداة الفعلية حتى يتم تشغيلهم بحق.

وهذا يستحق التأكيد: تخطيط الإجراءات ليس نفس تشغيلها. عندما تقوم الاداة بتنفيذ الإجراء GetAxe، سيكون على الأرجح قرب كومة من الأدوات، تشغل رسوم متحركة تنحني لأسفل وتلتقط فاس، وثم تخزن الفاس في جعبتها الخلفية   . وهذا يغيير الحالة الخاصة بالاداة. ولكن، أثناء تخطيط GOAP،تغير الحالة مؤقت فقط، حتى يمكن المخطط من معرفة الحل الأمثل.

الشروط  المسبقة الإجرائية

في بعض الأحيان، الإجراءات بحاجة إلى القيام بالمزيد لتحديد ما إذا كان يمكن تشغيلها. على سبيل المثال، اجراء GetAxe له الشرط  المسبق "فاس متاح" الذي سوف يحتاج إلى البحث في عالميا، أو المتاخمة، لمعرفة ما إذا كان هناك فاس يمكن أن تاخذه الاداة. إنه يمكنها تحديد أنأقرب فاس بعيداً جداً أو خلف خطوط العدو، وفي هذه الحالة سيقول أنه لا يمكنها فعل هذا الاجراء. هذا الشرط المسبق اجرائي ويحتاج إلى تشغيل بعض التعليمات البرمجية؛ وليس عامل منطقي بسيط بحيث يمكننا تبديله.

ومن الواضح أن بعض هذه الشروط الإجرائية يمكن أن يستغرق بعض الوقت للتشغيل، وينبغي أن يقوم على شيء آخر غير الخيط المقدم، من الناحية المثالية كخيط  خلفية أوكالكوروتينز (في الوحدة).

يمكن أن يكون لديك آثار إجرائية أيضا، إذا كنت ترغب في ذلك. وإذا كنت ترغب في عرض نتائج أكثر ديناميكية، يمكنك تغيير تكلفة الإجراءات على الطاير!

GOAP والحالة

نظام GOAP خاصتنا سيحتاج إلى العيش في آلة محدودة الحالات و صغيرة (FSM)، لسبب وحيد، في العديد من الألعاب، سوف تحتاج الإجراءات لتكون قريب من هدف من أجل العمل. ونحن في النهاية ننتهي بثلاث حالات:

  • عاطلة عن العمل
  • الانتقالية
  • تنفيذ اجراء

عند العطول عن العمل، الاداة ستعرف  الهدف الذي يريدونه لاكمال الجزء المتعامل معه خارج GOAP  . تتم معالجة هذا الجزء من خارج GOAP ؛ سوف تقول لك الإجراءات التي يمكنك تشغيلها لتنفيذ هذا الهدف. عندما يتم اختيار هدف يتم تمريره إلى "مخطط جوب"، جنبا إلى جنب مع العالم و حالة  بدء الاداة ، والمخطط سسترج قائمة الإجراءات (إذا كان يمكن تحقيق هذا الهدف)

عندما ينتهي ذلك المخطط والاداة يكون لها قائمة من الإجراءات، فإنه ستحاول تنفيذ الإجراء الأول. سوف تحتاج جميع الإجراءات لمعرفة إذا كان يجب أن تكون في نطاق الهدف. إذا كذلك، فسوف تضغط الآلة محدودة الحالات على الحالة القادمة: MoveTo.

حالة MoveTo ستخبر الاداة انها بحاجة للانتقال إلى هدف محدد. الاداة ستقوم بهذا النقل (ويشغل رسم متحرك يمشي)، وثم السماح للآلات محدودة الحالات ان تعرف عندما تكون داخل نطاق الهدف. هذه الحالة هي ثم تبرز، ويمكن تنفيذ الإجراء.

حالة PerformAction  ستشغل الإجراء التالي في قائمة الاجراءات التي يتم إرجاعها بواسطة "مخطط جوب". الإجراء  يمكن أن يكون لحظي أو يبقى خلال العديد من الإطارات، ولكن عندما ينتهي يبرز وثم يتم تنفيذ الإجراء التالي (مرة أخرى، بعد التحقق من ما إذا كان هذا الإجراء التالي يجب تنفيذه ضمن نطاق الهدف).

هذا كله يتكرر حتى لا توجد إجراءات تحتاج للقيام بها، عند هذه النقطة نعود إلى حالة Idle، احصل على هدف جديد، وخطط مرة أخرى.

مثال لكود برمجي حقيقي

لقد حان الوقت لنلقي نظرة على مثال حقيقي! لا تقلق؛ الامر ليس معقد، وقد قدمت نسخة عمل في وحدة و#سي لك لمحاولة الخروج. فقط سأتحدث عن ذلك بإيجاز هنا حيث يمكنك التعود على الهندسة المعمارية. تستخدم التعليمة البرمجية بعض الأمثلة للحطابة  على نفس النحو الوارد أعلاه.

إذا كنت ترغب في معرفة المزيد،توجه هنا إلى التعليمة البرمجية: http://github.com/sploreg/goap

لدينا أربعة عمال:

  • حداد: يحول خام الحديد إلى أدوات.
  • قاطع الاشجار: يستخدم أداة لتقطيع الأشجار لإنتاج قطع من الاشجار.
  • المنقّب: ينقّّب الصخوربأداة لإنتاج خام الحديد.
  • قاطع الخشب: يستخدم أداة تقطع قطع الاشجار لإنتاج الحطب.

الأدوات تبلي بمرور الوقت، وسوف تحتاج إلى استبدال. لحسن الحظ، يصنع الحداد أدوات . ولكن خام الحديد مطلوب لصنع الأدوات؛ هذا حيث يأتي دور المنقّب في (الذي يحتاج أيضا أدوات). قاطع الخشب يحتاج إلى قطع اشجار، وتلك تأتي من قاطع الاشجار؛ كلاهما بحاجة إلى أدوات كذلك.

يتم تخزين أدوات وموارد الإمداد على كومات التزويد. ستجمع الادوات المواد أو الأدوات التي يحتاجونها من الأكوام، وأيضا ستسقط ناتجها عليهم.

الكود له ستة فصول ل جوب رئيسية:

  • GoapAgent: تدرك حالة وتستخدم الآلات محدودة الحالات و GoapPlanner  للعمل.
  • GoapAction: الإجراءات التي يمكن أن تؤديها الادوات.
  • GoapPlanner: تخطط الإجراءات ل GoapAgent.
  • FSM: الآلة محدودة الحالات.
  • FSMState: حالة في الآلات محدودة الحالات.
  • IGoap: الواجهة التي يستخدمها ممثلي عمالنا الحقيقيين .ترتبط باحداث ل -جوب-ول الآلات محدودة الحالات.

دعنا ننظر إلى فئة GoapAction، نظرا لأنه هو الذي سوف تُفرّعه:

لا شيء موهم جداً هنا: فإنه يخزن الشروط المسبقة والآثار. فهو يعرف أيضا ما إذا كان يجب أن يكون في نطاق الهدف، وإذا كان الأمر كذلك، فان  الآلات محدودة الحالات تعرف كيف تضغط MoveTo عند الحاجة. هي تعرف متى تنتهي، أيضا؛ذلك محدد بواسطة فئة تنفيذ العمل .

هنا واحد من الإجراءات:

الجزء الأكبر من الاجراء هو طريقة checkProceduralPreconditions. تنظر لأقرب هدف لعبة مع IronRockComponent، وتحفظ هذه الصخرة المستهدفة. ثم، عندما ينفذ، يحصل على تلك الصخرة الهدف وسيتم تنفيذ الإجراء عليها. عند إعادة استخدام الإجراء في التخطيط مرة أخرى، جميع حقولها مضبوطة بحيث يمكن حسابها مرة أخرى.

هذه هي كافة المكونات التي تم إضافتها إلى نطاق هدف Minerفي الوحدة:


من أجل ان تعمل اداتك، يجب إضافة المكونات التالية إليها:

  • GoapAgent.
  • فئة تطبق IGoap  (في المثال أعلاه، هي Miner.cs).
  • بعض الإجراءات.
  • جعبة خلفية (فقط  لان الإجراءات تستخدمها؛ ولا علاقة لها بجوب).
يمكنك إضافة أيا كانت الإجراءات التي تريدها، وهذا سيغير كيف تتصرف الاداة. ويمكن حتى ان تعطيها جميع الإجراءات حتى يمكنها التنقيب عن خام الحديد ، وصياغة أدوات، وقطع الخشب.

هنا العرض التجريبي عمليا مرة أخرى:

كل عامل يذهب إلى الهدف الذي يحتاج لإنجاز عمله(شجرة، صخرة، تقطيع كتلة، أو أيا كان) يقوم بتنفيذ الإجراء، ويرجعوا غالباً إلى كومة التزويد لإسقاط بضائعهم. الحداد سوف ينتظر بعض الوقت حتى يكون هناك خام حديد في واحدة من أكوام الإمداد (يضيفها المنقّب). الحداد ثم يتلف ويصنع ادوات، وسيسقط الأدوات في كومة العرض الأقرب له.عندما تعطل أداة عامل سوف يتوجهوا إلى كومة الإمداد بالقرب من الحداد حيث الأدوات الجديدة.

يمكنك امتلاك التعليمة البرمجية والتطبيق الكامل هنا: http://github.com/sploreg/goap.

الخلاصة

مع جوب، يمكنك إنشاء مجموعة كبيرة من الإجراءات دون صداع الحالات المترابطة الذي غالباً ما ياتي مع "الآلات محدودة الحالات". يمكن إضافة إجراءات وإزالتها من الاداة  لانتاج نتائج ديناميكية، وكذلك فيما يتعلق بإبقاءك تعقل متى المحافظة على التعليمة البرمجية. سوف تنتهي بذكاء اصطناعي، مرن حاذق وديناميكي.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Game Development
  2. Unity 3D
Gamedevelopment

Goal Oriented Action Planning for a Smarter AI

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Goal Oriented Action Planning (GOAP) is an AI system that will easily give your agents choices and the tools to make smart decisions without having to maintain a large and complex finite state machine.

View the Demo

In this demo, there are four character classes, each using tools that break after being used for a while:

  • Miner: Mines ore at rocks. Needs a tool to work.
  • Logger: Chops trees to produce logs. Needs a tool to work.
  • Wood Cutter: Cuts up trees into usable wood. Needs a tool to work.
  • Blacksmith: Forges tools at the forge. Everyone uses these tools.

Each class will figure out automatically, using goal oriented action planning, what actions they need to perform to reach their goals. If their tool breaks, they will go to a supply pile that has one made by the blacksmith.

What is GOAP?

Goal oriented action planning is an artificial intelligence system for agents that allows them to plan a sequence of actions to satisfy a particular goal. The particular sequence of actions depends not only on the goal but also on the current state of the world and the agent. This means that if the same goal is supplied for different agents or world states, you can get a completely different sequence of actions., which makes the AI more dynamic and realistic. Lets look at an example, as seen in the demo above.

We have an agent, a wood chopper, that takes logs and chops them up into firewood. The chopper can be supplied with the goal MakeFirewood, and has the actions ChopLog, GetAxe, and CollectBranches.

The ChopLog action will turn a log into firewood, but only if the wood cutter has an axe. The GetAxe action will give the wood cutter an axe. Finally, the CollectBranches action will produce firewood as well, without requiring an axe, but the firewood will not be as high in quality.

When we give the agent the MakeFirewood goal, we get these two different action sequences:

  • Needs firewood -> GetAxe -> ChopLog = makes firewood
  • Needs firewood -> CollectBranches = makes firewood

If the agent can get an axe, then they can chop a log to make firewood. But maybe they cannot get an axe; then, they can just go and collect branches. Each of these sequences will fulfill the goal of MakeFirewood

GOAP can choose the best sequence based on what preconditions are available. If there is no axe handy, then the wood cutter has to resort to picking up branches. Picking up branches can take a really long time and yield poor quality firewood, so we don’t want it to run all the time, only when it has to.

Who GOAP is For

You are, by now, probably familiar with Finite State Machines (FSM), but if not, then take a look at this terrific tutorial

You might have run into very large and complex states for some of your FSM agents, where you eventually get to a point where you do not want to add new behaviours because they cause too many side effects and gaps in the AI.

GOAP turns this:

Finite State Machine states: connected everywhere.

Into this:

GOAP: nice and manageable.


By decoupling the actions from each other, we can now focus on each action individually. This makes the code modular, and easy to test and to maintain. If you want to add in another action, you can just plunk it in, and no other actions have to be changed. Try doing that with an FSM!

Also, you can add or remove actions on the fly to change the behaviour of an agent to make them even more dynamic. Have an ogre that suddenly started raging? Give them a new "rage attack" action that gets removed when they calm down. Simply adding the action to the list of actions is all you have to do; the GOAP planner will take care of the rest.

If you find you have a very complex FSM for your agents, then you should give GOAP a try. One sign your FSM is getting too complex is when every state has a myriad of if-else statements testing what state they should go to next, and adding in a new state makes you groan at all the implications it might have.

If you have a very simple agent that just performs one or two tasks, then GOAP might be a little heavy-handed and an FSM will suffice. However, it is worth looking at the concepts here and seeing whether they would be easy enough for you to plug into your agent.

Actions

An action is something that the agent does. Usually it is just playing an animation and a sound, and changing a little bit of state (for instance, adding firewood). Opening a door is a different action (and animation) than picking up a pencil. An action is encapsulated, and should not have to worry about what the other actions are.

To help GOAP determine what actions we want to use, each action is given a cost. A high cost action will not be chosen over a lower cost action. When we sequence the actions together, we add up the costs and then choose the sequence with the lowest cost.

Lets assign some costs to the actions:

  • GetAxe Cost: 2
  • ChopLog Cost: 4
  • CollectBranches Cost: 8

If we look at the sequence of actions again and add up the total costs, we will see what the cheapest sequence is:

  • Needs firewood -> GetAxe (2) -> ChopLog (4) = makes firewood (total: 6)
  • Needs firewood -> CollectBranches (8) = makes firewood (total: 8)

Getting an axe and chopping a log produces firewood at the lower cost of 6, while collecting the branches produces wood at the higher cost of 8. So, our agent chooses to get an axe and chop wood.

But won’t this same sequence run all the time? Not if we introduce preconditions...

Preconditions and Effects

Actions have preconditions and effects. A precondition is the state that is required for the action to run, and the effects are the change to the state after the action has run.

For example, the ChopLog action requires the agent to have an axe handy. If the agent does not have an axe, it needs to find another action that can fulfill that precondition in order to let the ChopLog action run. Luckily, the GetAxe action does that—this is the effect of the action.

The GOAP Planner

The GOAP planner is a piece of code that looks at actions' preconditions and effects, and creates queues of actions that will fulfill a goal. That goal is supplied by the agent, along with a world state, and a list of actions the agent can perform. With this information the GOAP planner can order the actions, see which can run and which can’t, and then decide which actions are the best to perform. Luckily for you, I’ve written this code, so you don’t have to.

To set this up, lets add preconditions and effects to our wood chopper’s actions:

  • GetAxe Cost: 2. Preconditions: "an axe is available", "doesn’t have an axe". Effect: "has an axe".
  • ChopLog Cost: 4. Preconditions: "has an axe". Effect: "make firewood"
  • CollectBranches Cost: 8. Preconditions: (none). Effect: "make firewood".

The GOAP planner now has the information needed to order the sequence of actions to make firewood (our goal). 

We start by supplying the GOAP Planner with the current state of the world and the state of the agent. This combined world state is:

  • "doesn’t have an axe"
  • "an axe is available"
  • "the sun is shining"

Looking at our current available actions, the only part of the states that are relevant to them is the "doesn’t have an axe" and the "an axe is available" states; the other one might be used for other agents with other actions.

Okay, we have our current world state, our actions (with their preconditions and effects), and the goal. Let’s plan!

The planner will run through the other actions, too, and it won’t just stop when it finds a solution to the goal. What if another sequence has a lower cost? It will run through all possibilities to find the best solution.

When it plans, it builds up a tree. Every time an action is applied, it is popped off the list of available actions, so we don’t have a string of 50 GetAxe actions back-to-back. The state is changed with that action’s effect.

The tree that the planner builds up looks like this:

We can see that it will actually find three paths to the goal with their total costs:

  • GetAxe -> ChopLog (total: 6)
  • GetAxe -> CollectBranches (total: 10)
  • CollectBranches (total: 8)

Although GetAxe -> CollectBranches works, the cheapest path is GetAxe -> ChopLog, so this one is returned.

What do preconditions and effects actually look like in code? Well, that's up to you, but I have found it easiest to store them as a key-value pair, where the key is always a String and the value is an object or primitive type (float, int, Boolean, or similar). In C#, that could look like this:

When the action is performing, what do these effects actually look like and what do they do? Well, they don’t have to do anything—they are really just used for planning, and don’t affect the real agent’s state until they run for real. 

This is worth emphasising: planning actions is not the same as running them. When an agent performs the GetAxe action, it will probably be near a pile of tools, play a bend-down-and-pick-up animation, and then store an axe object in its backpack. This changes the state of the agent. But, during GOAP planning, the state change is just temporary, so that the planner can figure out the optimal solution.

Procedural Preconditions

Sometimes, actions need to do a little more to determine whether they can run. For instance, the GetAxe action has the precondition of "an axe is available" that will need to search the world, or the immediate vicinity, to see whether there is an axe the agent can take. It might determine that the nearest axe is just too far away or behind enemy lines, and will say that it cannot run. This precondition is procedural and needs to run some code; it's not a simple Boolean operator that we can just toggle.

Obviously, some of these procedural preconditions can take a while to run, and should be performed on something other than the render thread, ideally as a background thread or as Coroutines (in Unity).

You could have procedural effects too, if you so desire. And if you want to introduce even more dynamic results, you can change the cost of actions on the fly!

GOAP and State

Our GOAP system will need to live in a small Finite State Machine (FSM), for the sole reason that, in many games, actions will need to be close to a target in order to perform. We end up with three states:

  • Idle
  • MoveTo
  • PerformAction

When idle, the agent will figure out which goal they want to fulfill. This part is handled outside of GOAP; GOAP will just tell you which actions you can run to perform that goal. When a goal is chosen it is passed to the GOAP Planner, along with the world and agent starting state, and the planner will return a list of actions (if it can fulfill that goal).

When the planner is done and the agent has its list of actions, it will try to perform the first action. All actions will need to know if they must be in range of a target. If they do, then the FSM will push on the next state: MoveTo.

The MoveTo state will tell the agent that it needs to move to a specific target. The agent will do the moving (and play the walk animation), and then let the FSM know when it is within range of the target. This state is then popped off, and the action can perform.

The PerformAction state will run the next action in the queue of actions returned by the GOAP Planner. The action can be instantaneous or last over many frames, but when it is done it gets popped off and then the next action is performed (again, after checking whether that next action needs to be performed within range of an object).

This all repeats until there are no actions left to perform, at which point we go back to the Idle state, get a new goal, and plan again.

A Real Code Example

It's time to take a look at a real example! Don’t worry; it isn’t that complicated, and I have provided a working copy in Unity and C# for you to try out. I will just talk about it briefly here so you get a feel for the architecture. The code uses some of the same WoodChopper examples as above.

If you want to dig right in, head here for the code: http://github.com/sploreg/goap

We have four labourers:

  • Blacksmith: turns iron ore into tools.
  • Logger: uses a tool to chop down trees to produce logs.
  • Miner: mines rocks with a tool to produce iron ore.
  • Wood cutter: uses a tool to chop logs to produce firewood.

Tools wear out over time and will need to be replaced. Fortunately, the Blacksmith makes tools. But iron ore is needed to make tools; that’s where the Miner comes in (who also needs tools). The Wood Cutter needs logs, and those come from the Logger; both need tools as well.

Tools and resources are stored on supply piles. The agents will collect the materials or tools they need from the piles, and also drop off their product at them.

The code has six main GOAP classes:

  • GoapAgent: understands state and uses the FSM and GoapPlanner to operate.
  • GoapAction: actions that agents can perform.
  • GoapPlanner: plans the actions for the GoapAgent.
  • FSM: the finite state machine.
  • FSMState: a state in the FSM.
  • IGoap: the interface that our real Labourer actors use. Ties into events for GOAP and the FSM.

Lets look at the GoapAction class, since that is the one you will subclass:

Nothing too fancy here: it stores preconditions and effects. It also knows whether it must be in range of a target, and, if so, then the FSM knows to push the MoveTo state when needed. It knows when it is done, too; that is determined by the implementing action class.

Here is one of the actions:

The largest part of the action is the checkProceduralPreconditions method. It looks for the nearest game object with an IronRockComponent, and saves this target rock. Then, when it performs, it gets that saved target rock and will perform the action on it. When the action is re-used in planning again, all of its fields are reset so that they can be calculated again.

These are all components that are added to the Miner entity object in Unity:


In order for your agent to work, you must add the following components to it:

  • GoapAgent.
  • A class that implements IGoap (in the above example, that's Miner.cs).
  • Some actions.
  • A backpack (only because the actions use it; it is unrelated to GOAP).
You can add whatever actions you want, and this would change how the agent behaves. You could even give it all actions so it can mine ore, forge tools, and chop wood.

Here is the demo in action again:

Each labourer goes to the target that they need to fulfill their action (tree, rock, chopping block, or whatever), performs the action, and often returns to the supply pile to drop off their goods. The Blacksmith will wait a little while until there is iron ore in one of the supply piles (added to by the Miner). The Blacksmith then goes off and makes tools, and will drop off the tools at the supply pile nearest him. When a labourer’s tool breaks they will head off to the supply pile near the Blacksmith where the new tools are.

You can grab the code and the full app here: http://github.com/sploreg/goap.

Conclusion

With GOAP, you can create a large series of actions without the headache of interconnected states that often comes with a Finite State Machine. Actions can be added and removed from an agent to produce dynamic results, as well as to keep you sane when maintaining the code. You will end up with a flexible, smart, and dynamic AI.



Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.