Advertisement
  1. Game Development
  2. 2D Games
Gamedevelopment

Mise en route de Crafty: The Game Loop

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:ShortLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Getting Started with Crafty.
Getting Started With Crafty: Controls, Events, and Text

French (Français) translation by New Lune (you can also view the original English article)

Jusqu'à ce point de cette série, vous avez appris à manipuler des entités différentes et à utiliser le clavier pour les déplacer. Dans cette partie, vous apprendrez à utiliser la boucle de jeu dans Crafty pour vérifier en permanence différents événements et animer différentes entités.

La boucle de jeu dans Crafty est implémentée dans Crafty.timer.step, qui utilise des événements globaux pour communiquer avec le reste des moteurs. La boucle est pilotée par requestAnimationFrame lorsqu'elle est disponible. Chaque boucle se compose d'un ou plusieurs appels à l'événement EnterFrame et un seul appel à RenderScene qui entraîne le redessinage de chaque couche.

La valeur finale de toutes les propriétés et variables est résolue avant qu'une scène ne soit rendue. Par exemple, si vous déplacez votre lecteur 5 px à droite dix fois à l'intérieur d'un seul événement EnterFrame, il sera directement dessiné 50 px vers la droite en sautant tous les dessins intermédiaires.

EnterFrame et RenderScene

Tout dans votre jeu qui doit changer au fil du temps est finalement lié à l'événement EnterFrame. Vous pouvez utiliser la méthode .bind() pour lier des entités différentes à cet événement. Les fonctions liées à cet événement reçoivent également un objet avec des propriétés telles que dt qui détermine le nombre de millisecondes qui se sont écoulées depuis le dernier événement EnterFrame.

Vous pouvez utiliser la propriété dt pour fournir une expérience de jeu en douceur en déterminant dans quelle mesure l'état du jeu doit avancer.

L'événement RenderScene est utilisé pour vous assurer que tout ce qui est visible sur l'écran correspond à l'état actuel du jeu lors du dernier événement EnterFrame. Normalement, vous n'aurez pas besoin de lier cet événement vous-même si vous décidez d'implémenter votre propre couche de rendu personnalisée.

Utilisation de Tween pour animer des propriétés 2D

Vous pouvez utiliser le composant Tween lorsque vous souhaitez simplement animer les propriétés 2D d'une entité sur une période de temps spécifique.  Vous pouvez animer les propriétés x, y, w, h, rotation et alpha en utilisant ce composant. Animons la valeur x et la hauteur des cases orange et noire que vous avez créées dans les deux derniers tutoriels.

Voici le code dont vous avez besoin:

Vous avez probablement remarqué que la boîte orange ne tourne pas autour de son centre, mais son coin supérieur gauche. Vous pouvez changer le centre de rotation en utilisant la méthode .origin(). Il peut accepter deux arguments entiers, qui déterminent le décalage d'origine des pixels dans les axes x et y.

Il accepte également une valeur de chaîne comme argument. La valeur de la chaîne peut être une combinaison de centre, haut, bas, milieu, gauche et droite. Par exemple, .origin("center") fera tourner l'entité autour de son centre, et .origin("bottom right") fera tourner l'entité autour du coin inférieur droit.

Vous pouvez mettre en pause ou reprendre tous les interpolations associées à une entité donnée en utilisant les méthodes .pauseTweens() et .resumeTweens(). De même, vous pouvez également utiliser .cancelTween() pour annuler une interpolation spécifique.

Comprendre le Crafty Timer

L'objet Crafty.timer gère toutes les tiques du jeu dans Crafty. Vous pouvez utiliser la méthode .FPS() avec cet objet pour obtenir le taux d'images cible. Gardez à l'esprit que ce n'est pas le taux d'images réel.

Vous pouvez également utiliser la méthode .simulateFrames(Number frames [, Number timestep]) pour faire avancer l'état du jeu par un nombre donné de trames. Le timestep est la durée pour passer chaque image. Si elle n'est pas spécifiée, une valeur par défaut de 20ms est utilisée.

Une autre méthode utile est .step(), qui fera progresser le jeu en effectuant une étape. Une seule étape peut consister en une ou plusieurs trames suivies d'un rendu. Le nombre de trames dépend du steptype de la minuterie. Cette méthode déclenche une variété d'événements comme EnterFrame et ExitFrame pour chaque trame et les événements PreRender, RenderScene et PostRender pour chaque rendu.

Il existe trois modes différents de steptype: fixed, variable et semifixed. En mode fixed, chaque image de Crafty reçoit la même valeur de dt. Toutefois, ce steptype peut déclencher plusieurs trames avant chaque rendu pour atteindre la vitesse de jeu cible.

Vous pouvez également déclencher une seule image avant chaque rendu en utilisant le mode variable. Dans ce cas, la valeur de dt est égale au temps réel écoulé depuis la dernière image.

Enfin, le mode semifixed déclenche plusieurs trames par rendu et le temps depuis la dernière trame est réparti également entre eux.

Créer un jeu très simple

Si vous avez lu tous les tutoriels de cette série, vous devriez avoir acquis assez de connaissances à ce jour pour créer un jeu très simple. Dans cette section, vous apprendrez comment mettre tout ce que vous avez appris à utiliser et créer un jeu où le joueur principal doit manger un morceau de nourriture.

La nourriture sera un carré rouge tournant. Dès que la nourriture entre en contact avec le joueur, il disparaît de l'ancien emplacement et fraie dans un nouvel emplacement aléatoire. Le lecteur peut être déplacé en utilisant A, W, S, D ou les touches fléchées.

Une autre chose que vous devez prendre en charge est la position du joueur. Il est censé rester avec les limites de la phase de jeu.

Écrivons le code pour la nourriture d'abord:

Par défaut, Crafty aurait utilisé le coin supérieur gauche de l'entité alimentaire pour le faire pivoter. En réglant l'origine au centre, l'entité alimentaire tourne autour de son centre.

L'entité joueur vérifie l'emplacement actuel du joueur dans chaque image et réinitialise l'emplacement si le joueur tente de sortir de la partie de jeu.

Vous pouvez utiliser une entité Text pour suivre la partition. Le score est affiché dans le coin supérieur gauche. La variable gameScore enregistre le nombre de fois où le joueur touche l'entité alimentaire.

Maintenant, il vous suffit d'écrire le code pour déplacer la nourriture à un endroit différent quand un coup est détecté. Le code suivant fera exactement cela.

Vous devez garder à l'esprit que vous soustraire la largeur et la hauteur de votre entité alimentaire de la largeur de la scène et la hauteur, respectivement. Cela permet de s'assurer que la nourriture est toujours complètement à l'intérieur de la scène. Voici une démo du jeu:

Dernières pensées

Avec l'aide de Crafty, vous avez créé un jeu très simple en écrivant quelques lignes de code. À l'heure actuelle, le jeu manque quelques fonctionnalités qui pourraient le rendre plus intéressant. D'abord, il n'y a pas de sons. Deuxièmement, il n'y a aucun moyen pour le joueur de sortir, et le niveau de difficulté reste aussi le même tout au long du jeu. Vous apprendrez à connaître les sons, les sprites, les événements de souris et d'autres fonctions de la bibliothèque dans la série suivante.

Si vous aviez des problèmes ou des doutes tout en passant par tous les exemples de la série, laissez-moi savoir dans les commentaires.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Game Development
  2. 2D Games
Gamedevelopment

Getting Started With Crafty: The Game Loop

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:ShortLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Getting Started with Crafty.
Getting Started With Crafty: Controls, Events, and Text

Up to this point in this series, you have learned how to manipulate different entities and use the keyboard to move them around. In this part, you will learn how to use the game loop in Crafty to continuously check for various events and animate different entities.

The game loop in Crafty is implemented in Crafty.timer.step, which uses global events to communicate with the rest of the engines. The loop is driven by requestAnimationFrame when available. Each loop consists of one or more calls to the EnterFrame event and a single call to RenderScene which results in the redrawing of each layer. 

The final value of all the properties and variables is resolved before a scene is rendered. For example, if you move your player 5 px to the right ten times inside a single EnterFrame event, it will be directly drawn 50 px to the right by skipping all the intermediate drawings.

EnterFrame and RenderScene

Everything in your game that needs to change over time is ultimately linked to the EnterFrame event. You can use the .bind() method to bind different entities to this event. Functions bound to this event are also passed an object with properties like dt which determines the number of milliseconds that have passed since the last EnterFrame event. 

You can use the dt property to provide a smooth gaming experience by determining how far the game state should advance.

The RenderScene event is used to make sure that everything visible on the screen matches the current state of the game at the last EnterFrame event. Normally, you will not need to bind this event yourself unless you decide to implement your own custom rendering layer.

Using Tween to Animate 2D Properties

You can use the Tween component when you just want to animate the 2D properties of an entity over a specific period of time. You can animate the x, y, w, h, rotation, and alpha properties using this component. Let's animate the x value and height of the orange and black boxes that you've been creating in the last two tutorials. 

Here is the code you need:

You've probably noticed that the orange box is not rotating around its center but its top left corner. You can change the rotation center by using the .origin() method. It can accept two integer arguments, which determine the pixel offset of origin in the x and y axes. 

It also accepts a string value as its argument. The string value can be a combination of center, top, bottom, middle, left, and right.  For example, .origin("center") will rotate the entity around its center, and .origin("bottom right") will rotate the entity around the bottom right corner. 

You can pause or resume all tweens associated with a given entity using the .pauseTweens() and .resumeTweens() methods. Similarly, you can also use .cancelTween() to cancel a specific tween.

Understanding the Crafty Timer

The Crafty.timer object handles all the game ticks in Crafty. You can use the .FPS() method with this object to get the target frame rate. Keep in mind that it is not the actual frame rate.

You can also use the .simulateFrames(Number frames[, Number timestep]) method to advance the game state by a given number of frames. The timestep is the duration to pass each frame. If it is not specified, a default value of 20ms is used.

Another useful method is .step(), which will advance the game by performing a step. A single step can consist of one or more frames followed by a render. The number of frames will depend on the timer's steptype. This method triggers a variety of events like EnterFrame and ExitFrame  for each frame and PreRender, RenderScene, and PostRender events for each render.

There are three different modes of steptypefixed, variable, and semifixed. In fixed mode, each frame in Crafty is sent the same value of dt. However, this steptype can trigger multiple frames before each render to achieve the target game speed. 

You can also trigger just one frame before each render by using the variable mode. In this case, the value of dt is equal to the actual time elapsed since the last frame. 

Finally, the semifixed mode triggers multiple frames per render, and the time since last frame is equally divided among them.

Creating a Very Basic Game

If you have read all the tutorials in this series, you should have gained enough knowledge by now to create a very basic game. In this section, you will learn how to put everything you learned to use and create a game where the main player has to eat a piece of food. 

The food will be a rotating red square. As soon as the food comes in contact with the player, it disappears from the old location and spawns in a new random location. The player can be moved using A, W, S, D, or the arrow keys.

One more thing that you need to take care of is the position of the player. It is supposed to stay with the bounds of the game stage.

Let's write the code for the food first:

By default, Crafty would have used the top left corner of the food entity to rotate it. Setting origin to center makes sure that the food entity rotates around its center.

The player entity checks the current location of the player in each frame and resets the location if the player tries to go outside the game stage.

You can use a Text entity to keep track of the score. The score is shown in the top left corner. The gameScore variable stores the number of times the player hits the food entity.

Now, you just have to write the code to move the food to a different location when a hit is detected. The following code will do exactly that.

You need to keep in mind that you subtract the width and height of your food entity from the stage width and height respectively. This makes sure that the food is always completely inside the stage. Here is a demo of the game:

Final Thoughts

With the help of Crafty, you have created a very basic game by writing a few lines of code. Right now, the game lacks a few features which could make it more interesting. First, there are no sounds. Second, there is no way for the player to get out, and the difficulty level also remains the same throughout the game. You will learn about sound, sprites, mouse events, and other features of the library in the next series.

If you had any problems or doubts while going through all the examples in the series, let me know in the comments.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.