Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Game Development
  2. Level Design
Gamedevelopment

StarCraft II Level Design: Einführung und Nahkampfkarten

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called StarCraft II Level Design.
StarCraft II Level Design: Aesthetic Design and Editor Tips

German (Deutsch) translation by Federicco Ancie (you can also view the original English article)

Wenn es um RTS-Spiele geht, gibt es keine Serie, die bekannter oder erfolgreicher als StarCraft ist. Das Zusammenstellen eines Levels für StarCraft II ist einfach, sobald Sie die Tools verstanden haben. Das ist ganz andere Sache, es ausgewogen zu gestalten und es als offizielles Level zu empfinden. In diesem Artikel werden die wichtigsten Aspekte erläutert, die bei der Gestaltung Ihrer Levels zu berücksichtigen sind, und wie Sie sie erstellen, um selbst die härtesten Spieler zufrieden zu stellen.


Bevor wir anfangen

Dieser Artikel befasst sich mit dem Level-Design in StarCraft II und den wesentlichen Dingen, die Sie beim Entwerfen Ihrer Karten berücksichtigen müssen, anstatt den Level-Editor zu verwenden. Während sich der zweite Teil dieser Reihe mit den ästhetischen Aspekten des Level-Designs und den Werkzeugen befasst, die Ihnen der Editor zur Verfügung stellt, ist keiner der Artikel ein Tutorial für die erstmalige Verwendung des Level-Editors. Wenn Sie danach suchen, sollen Sie Websites wie SC2Mapster besuchen, die viele Tutorials zu diesem Thema enthalten.

StarCraft II Level Design: Melee Maps

Dieser Artikel konzentriert sich hauptsächlich darauf, Ihre Level auszugleichen und sie für ein wettbewerbsfähiges Spiel zu entwerfen. Wenn Sie mehr über den ästhetischen Teil des Designprozesses erfahren möchten, halten Sie sich an meinen nächsten Artikel, da dieser ausführlich behandelt wird.


Der erste Schritt ist die Vorbereitung

Ich schlage vor, dass Sie, bevor Sie mit dem Editor beginnen, auch Zeit damit verbringen, das Spiel zu spielen. Wenn Sie einen Teil der Kampagne durchspielen oder gegen andere Leute spielen, bekommen Sie ein Verständnis für die Strategien, die Menschen bei verschiedenen Rassen anwenden, und ein tieferes Wissen über das Spiel als Ganzes.

Es ist absolut wichtig, dass Sie in echten Spielen gegen andere spielen, um das Verständnis zu erlangen, das Sie für eine gute Karte benötigen. Wenn Sie immer nur Spiele gegen Computer spielen oder überhaupt nicht spielen, gibt es möglicherweise subtile Dinge, die Sie verpassen oder nicht berücksichtigen, wenn Sie Ihre erste Karte erstellen.

StarCraft II Level Design: Melee Maps

Wenn Sie neu im Spiel sind, können Sie auch Zeit damit verbringen, die Einheiten und Strukturen auf der offiziellen Blizzard-Website zu studieren, um ein besseres Verständnis ihrer Funktionsweise zu erlangen.

Sobald Sie ein gutes Verständnis dafür haben, wie das Spiel gespielt wird, ist es Zeit, Karten zu erstellen.


Spieltypen

Der primäre Spieltyp in SC2 ist Nahkampf in 1 gegen 1, in Teams oder in einer Free-For-All-Einstellung. Während Sie den Editor verwenden können, um völlig neue Spieltypen zu erstellen, werde ich hier nicht darauf eingehen, da die Techniken, die Sie benötigen, sehr von Ihren Wünschen abhängen.

Trotz des Fokus dieses Artikels auf das allgemeine Nahkampf-Kartendesign müssen Sie noch entscheiden, wie viele Spieler Ihre Karte aufnehmen soll. Während einige mehrere Spielgrößen unterstützen, sollten Sie dennoch alle Möglichkeiten für Ihre Karte in Betracht ziehen, da diese Informationen einen starken Einfluss auf die Häufigkeit und Platzierung verschiedener Kartenelemente haben.

Die häufigsten Nahkampf-Spieltypen sind 1v1, 2v2, 3v3, 4v4 und FFA. Die größte Auswirkung Ihrer Wahl des Spielmodus hat Ihre Kartengröße. Die durchschnittlichen Kartengrößen für die verschiedenen Modi sind wie folgt:

Diese Zahlen sind lediglich eine Richtlinie und es ist in Ordnung, bei der Bestimmung Ihrer Kartengröße größer oder kleiner zu werden. Sie sollten jedoch immer berücksichtigen, was Sie von der Karte erwarten. Wenn Sie eine Karte für schnelle 1-gegen-1-Spiele erstellen möchten, bei denen Kämpfe früh beginnen, möchten Sie wahrscheinlich eine Karte, die kleiner als der Durchschnitt ist. Wenn Sie jedoch eine Karte möchten, die große Schlachten unterstützt, müssen Sie den Spielern Platz geben, damit sie Zeit haben, große Armeen zu entwickeln, und möglicherweise eine überdurchschnittlich große Karte. Das Finden der richtigen Größe hängt im Allgemeinen davon ab, wie das Spiel gespielt werden soll und was für dieses Szenario am besten funktioniert.


Gemeinsame Elemente unter allen Ebenen

Egal welche Größenstufe Sie festlegen möchten, es gibt einige Dinge, die Sie immer einschließen werden. Auch wenn es keine spezifischen Regeln für die Verwendung dieser Elemente gibt, gibt es allgemein anerkannte Richtlinien für die Einrichtung.

Hier sind die Elemente, die Sie in fast jedem Level finden, und was Sie beim Platzieren beachten müssen.

Spieler-Startbasen

StarCraft II Level Design: Melee Maps
  • Das Einrichten der Startbasen ist eigentlich sehr einfach, da ihre Einrichtung von Blizzard und der Community vollständig standardisiert wird. Obwohl es technisch keine Regel gibt, die besagt, dass Sie die Startbasen auf eine bestimmte Weise einrichten müssen, ist es ungewöhnlich, dass Abweichungen innerhalb der gängigen Ebenen auftreten. Oben sehen Sie ein Bild des Standardlayouts einer Startbasis, die zwei Vespene-Geysire und acht Mineralfelder umfasst.
  • Während ich das später genauer besprechen werde, ist es wichtig, die Startbereiche gleich zu halten, welche Ressourcen ihnen zur Verfügung gestellt werden und wo sich diese Ressourcen befinden, da das dazu beiträgt, das Gleichgewicht zwischen den Spielern aufrechtzuerhalten.
  • Wenn Sie den Player starten, müssen Sie ihn immer auf einer erhöhten Klippe bauen. Dadurch sind die Spieler weniger offen für sofortige Angriffe und ihre Basen sind leichter zu verteidigen.
  • Stellen Sie sicher, dass Choke-Punkte enthalten sind: Bereiche, in denen der Weg zu einem Startpunkt eng wird und es für große Gruppen von Einheiten schwieriger wird, gleichzeitig einzutreten. Eine einfache Möglichkeit, dies zu tun, besteht darin, die Größe und Anzahl der Rampen zu begrenzen, die von der Basis abführen, wenn sie sich auf einer höheren Klippenebene befinden, oder Klippen zu verwenden, die höher als die Ebene sind, auf der sich die Basis befindet, um die Basis zu schließen und nur eine zu verlassen kleine Öffnung.

Erweiterungsbasen

Erweiterungsbasen sind die Orte, an denen Spieler ihr Territorium erweitern und sich weiter auf das Schlachtfeld wagen.

StarCraft II Level Design: Melee Maps
  • Es gibt natürliche und unnatürliche Erweiterungen. Natürliche Erweiterungen befinden sich im Allgemeinen neben oder in der Nähe einer der Startbasen und stellen den nächsten logischen Ort dar, an den ein Spieler gehen muss, wenn er seine zweite Basis baut. Unnatürliche Erweiterungen sind Orte, die weder geografisch noch räumlich mit einer der Startbasen verbunden sind und im Wesentlichen von jedem Spieler zu gewinnen sind.
  • Erweiterungsbasen sind eine großartige Möglichkeit, den Spielfluss zu bestimmen, da ihre Platzierung die Expansion Ihrer Spieler beeinflusst. Wenn Sie beispielsweise eine FFA-Karte für acht Personen haben, können Sie absichtlich nur vier natürliche Erweiterungsbasen erstellen und diese zwischen die Startpositionen der gegnerischen Spieler legen, um sicherzustellen, dass die Spieler interagieren und Konflikte mit anderen Spielern beginnen müssen, um sie zu erhalten. Alternativ könnten Sie eine 1v1-Karte haben, auf der es für jeden Spieler zahlreiche natürliche Erweiterungen gibt und jede unterschiedliche Vor- und Nachteile bietet. Wenn Sie die Anzahl der Erweiterungsbasen und deren Anordnung berücksichtigen, können Sie die Erfahrung Ihrer Spieler verwalten und eine Vielzahl einzigartiger Level erstellen.
  • Unnatürliche Erweiterungen sind auch eine großartige Möglichkeit, Konflikte zwischen Spielern zu fördern. In den meisten Fällen möchten Sie weniger unnatürliche Erweiterungen als Spieler haben, da einige Spieler wahrscheinlich ausgelöscht werden, bevor jemand versucht, eine unnatürliche Erweiterung zu erreichen.
  • Das Einbeziehen von Boni wie Rich Mineral Fields in unnatürliche Erweiterungen ist ebenfalls eine gute Idee, da dadurch unnatürliche Erweiterungen attraktiver werden und der Spieler eher bereit ist, den Kampf um die Belohnungen zu riskieren.
  • Drosselstellen sind auch bei Expansionsbasen keine Seltenheit.

Xel'Naga Türme

StarCraft II Level Design: Melee Maps
  • Ein Xel'Naga-Turm ist eine Struktur, die sich auf der Karte befindet und dem Spieler, der sie kontrolliert, große Bereiche der Karte zeigt.
  • In der Regel befindet sich in der Mitte der Karte ein Xel'Naga-Turm mit der Idee, dass die Spieler versuchen, die Kontrolle darüber zu erlangen, wenn sie sich ausdehnen. Dies ist sehr wichtig für das Gameplay, da es ein guter Ort für Spieler ist, um zu interagieren und zu kämpfen, wenn sie es noch nicht getan haben. Indem Sie es in die Mitte stellen, geben Sie jedem Spieler die gleiche Chance, es zu erhalten, und schaffen einen guten "Wegpunkt", auf den die Spieler bei der Eroberung der Karte hinarbeiten können.
  • In einigen größeren Karten platzieren Designer zwei Türme, da die Anzahl der Spieler einen einzelnen Turm zu chaotisch machen würde. Dies ist jedoch nicht besonders häufig und sollte nur nach Ihrem Ermessen erfolgen.

Ebenenlayout und die Bedeutung der Symmetrie

StarCraft II Level Design: Melee Maps

Das erste, was Sie tun müssen, wenn Sie Ihr Level festlegen, ist zu bestimmen, wo sich die Start- und Erweiterungsbasen befinden. Wenn Sie gute Positionen für die Startbasen haben, erhöhen Sie diese Positionen auf eine höhere Klippenebene und entscheiden Sie, wie viel Platz jeder Spieler haben soll. Beginnen Sie dann mit dem Aufbau von den Basen nach außen und entwickeln Sie das Level weiter, wenn Sie sich dem Zentrum nähern.

Es ist am besten, die Erfahrung zu berücksichtigen, die der Spieler haben soll, und diese als Richtschnur für die Entscheidung zu verwenden, was als nächstes zu tun ist. Entwickle dein Level weiter nach innen und irgendwann hast du den gesamten Bereich angelegt. Es ist wichtig, immer die Levelsymmetrie zu berücksichtigen und die Dinge für alle Spieler gleich zu halten, da dies Ihnen hilft, das Gleichgewicht zu halten und den Level-Design-Prozess zu vereinfachen.

Indem Sie eine symmetrische Ebene erstellen, können Sie viele der Gleichgewichtsprobleme vermeiden, die leicht auftreten können.

Technisch gesehen muss Ihr Level nicht symmetrisch sein, um ausgeglichen zu sein, aber ein ausgewogenes Level ohne Symmetrie zu erreichen, ist eine viel größere Herausforderung. Indem Sie eine symmetrische Ebene erstellen, können Sie viele der Gleichgewichtsprobleme vermeiden, die leicht auftreten können.

Wenn es beispielsweise schwieriger ist, die Ressourcen eines Spielers zu erreichen oder weiter von seiner Basis zu entfernen als die Ressourcen eines anderen Spielers, benötigen sie mehr Zeit, um die gleiche Menge an Ressourcen zu sammeln, und egal wie gut sie sind, sie werden niemals in der Lage sein, sie zu fangen bis zu den anderen Spielern oder durch ihre Tech-Bäume so schnell vorrücken.

In ähnlicher Weise wird der Spieler wahrscheinlich länger brauchen, um sich durch dieses Gebiet zu bewegen, wenn ein Gebiet auf der Karte mehr Doodads oder Requisiten enthält als jedes andere Gebiet. Wenn er gezwungen ist, dieses Gebiet zu durchqueren, kann er dies nicht um sich so schnell durch die Karte zu bewegen und möglicherweise die Chance zu verlieren, die Kontrolle über den Xel'Naga-Turm oder andere vorteilhafte Stellen zu erlangen.

Versuchen Sie also beim Auslegen Ihres Levels, es so symmetrisch wie möglich zu halten und sicherzustellen, dass jeder pieler das gleiche oder ein ähnliches Setup hat, damit kein Spieler durch das Layout selbst benachteiligt wird.


Konflikt gestalten

Sie haben vielleicht bemerkt, dass ich die Idee, Konflikte zu fördern, bereits in diesem Artikel oft erwähnt habe. Dies liegt daran, dass SC2 ein wettbewerbsfähiges Multiplayer-Spiel ist, das von Konflikten und Kämpfen lebt. Es ist Ihre Aufgabe als Leveldesigner, diesen Konflikt zu erzeugen und ihn in den Stoff Ihres Levels zu verweben.

Es gibt einige Möglichkeiten, z.B. absichtlich Feinde in die Nähe zu bringen, die Anzahl der Expansionsbasen mit reichen Mineralfeldern zu begrenzen oder die Anzahl der Xel'Naga-Türme zu begrenzen.

StarCraft II Level Design: Melee Maps

Die Idee hier ist, die Interaktion zwischen Ihren Spielern zu erzwingen und ihre Ziele mit den Zielen ihres Gegners in Konflikt zu bringen. In SC2 ist dies bereits beabsichtigt, da Sie ein Spiel nur gewinnen können, indem Sie Ihre Gegner töten. Trotzdem sollten Sie diese Ideen berücksichtigen, wenn Sie bestimmen, wohin die Basen gehen und welche Wege dem Spieler zur Verfügung stehen, um Ihr Level zu durchlaufen.


Spieltest und Re-Balancing

Sobald Sie ein Layout haben, sind Sie zufrieden mit der längsten und wichtigsten Entwicklungsstufe: Testen und Re-Balancing

Egal wie viel Zeit Sie auf Ihrem Level verbringen, bevor Sie es spielen, es wird wahrscheinlich nicht perfekt sein. Um es genau richtig zu machen und alle Probleme zu lösen, müssen Sie anfangen, es zu spielen und vor allem andere Leute es spielen zu lassen. Geben Sie die Karte frei und lassen Sie die Leute sie spielen, damit Sie so viel Feedback wie möglich erhalten.

Es gibt viele gute Communitys für SC2-Entwickler, darunter SC2Mapster, Team Liquid und sogar die offiziellen Blizzard-Foren. Nutzen Sie diese Ressourcen zu Ihrem Vorteil und erzählen Sie den Leuten von Ihrer Karte, damit sie sie spielen können.

Wenn Sie sich in dieser Entwicklungsphase befinden, geben Sie Ihr Bestes, um an so wenigen Tests wie möglich teilzunehmen, um zu verhindern, dass Ihr Wissen über das Niveau den Test verzerrt. Stellen Sie außerdem sicher, dass Sie alles berücksichtigen, was gesagt wird - und nehmen Sie nichts davon persönlich; Sie haben um Hilfe gebeten und die Leute geben sie, das ist alles, was zählt. Führen Sie so viele Tests wie möglich durch und sammeln Sie so viele Informationen wie möglich.

Es ist wichtig, dass Sie Ihre Karte weiter testen und neu ausbalancieren, bis sie wirklich vollständig ist, und nicht erst aufhören, nachdem die ersten Korrekturen vorgenommen wurden. Dies kann eine Weile dauern, aber Ihre Karte wird am Ende besser dafür sein.


Wohin gehe ich von hier aus?

Nachdem Ihr Niveau zur Zufriedenheit ausgeglichen ist, sollten Sie versuchen, es schön aussehen zu lassen. Der nächste Artikel in dieser Reihe wird genau das behandeln und einige Tipps zum Editor enthalten, die beim Entwerfen Ihres Levels zu beachten sind. Schauen Sie sich das also an, wenn wir es veröffentlichen.

Wenn Sie Fragen zu den in diesem Artikel behandelten Themen haben oder der Meinung sind, dass Sie gute Informationen für andere aufstrebende Level-Designer haben, z. B. andere gute Ressourcen oder Dinge, die Sie während der Arbeit mit dem Editor gelernt haben, teilen Sie uns dies in den Kommentaren mit. Ich hoffe, wir sehen uns bald wieder für den zweiten Teil der Serie.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
Level Design

StarCraft II Level Design: Introduction and Melee Maps

by

When it comes to RTS games there is no series better known, or more successful, than StarCraft. Putting together a level for StarCraft II is easy once you understand the tools, but making it balanced and getting it to feel like an official level is another thing entirely. This article will discuss the most important aspects to consider when designing your levels, and how to build them to satisfy even the toughest players.


Before We Begin

This article is going to deal with level design in StarCraft II and the essential things you should consider when designing your maps, rather than how to use the level editor. While the second part of this series will deal with the aesthetic aspects of level design and will deal a lot with the tools the editor makes available to you, neither article will be a tutorial in using the level editor for the first time. If you are looking for that you should head to websites like SC2Mapster which have many tutorials covering that topic.

StarCraft II Level Design: Melee Maps

This article will focus primarily on balancing your levels and designing them for competitive play; if you want to learn more about the aesthetic portion of the design process, hold on for my next article as it will cover that extensively.


The First Step Is Preparation

I suggest that before you get started with the editor you also spend time playing the game. Playing through some of the campaign and playing against other people online will help you gain an understanding of the strategies people use with different races and a deeper knowledge of the game as a whole.

It is absolutely crucial that you play against others in real matches to gain the understanding you need to make a good map. If you only ever play matches against computers, or you don't play at all, there may be subtle things you miss or fail to consider when you set out to make your first map.

StarCraft II Level Design: Melee Maps

Finally if you are new to the game you can also spend time studying the units and structures on the official Blizzard site to try and gain a better understanding of how they work.

Once you have a good understanding of how the game is played, it's time to get started making maps.


Game Types

The primary game type in SC2 is Melee in 1v1, in teams, or in a Free-For-All setting. While you can use the editor to make entirely new game types I will not discuss that here as the techniques you need are very reliant on what you want.

Despite this article's focus on general Melee map design you still need to decide how many players your map will accommodate. While some accommodate multiple game sizes you should still consider all of the possibilities for your map as this information will have a strong impact on the frequency and placement of different map elements.

The most common Melee game types are 1v1, 2v2, 3v3, 4v4, and FFA. The biggest impact your choice of game mode will have is in your map size. The average map sizes for the different modes are as follows:

Game Mode      Average Map Size
=========      ================
1v1            120x120 -- 140x140
2v2            140x140 -- 160x160
3v3            150x150 -- 180x180
4v4            160x160 -- 190x190
FFA            Varies based on number of players supported

These numbers are simply a guideline and it is okay to go larger or smaller when determining your map size, but you should always consider what you want from the map. If you want to make a map for quick 1v1 games where fights start early then you would probably want a smaller than average map. On the other hand if you want a map which supports large scale battles you need to give players space so they have time to develop big armies, and may want a larger than average map. Finding the right size generally comes down to considering how you want the game played and what works best for that scenario.


Common Elements Among All Levels

No matter what size level you want to make, there are some things you will always include. Also, while there are no specific rules on how you must use these items, there are commonly accepted guidelines about how they should be set up.

Here are the elements you will find in almost every level, and what you should consider when placing them.

Player Starting Bases

StarCraft II Level Design: Melee Maps
  • Setting up the starting bases is actually very simple as their setup has been entirely standardized by Blizzard and the community. While there is technically no rule that says you must set the starting bases up in a specific way, it is uncommon to see any deviation within popular levels. Above is a picture of the standard layout of a starting base which includes two Vespene Geysers and eight Mineral Fields.
  • While I will discuss this in greater detail later, it's important to keep the starting areas equal in what resources they are given and where those resources are as this will help maintain balance among the players.
  • When making the Player starts you should always build them on a raised cliff level; this leaves players less open to immediate attacks and makes their bases easier to defend.
  • Make sure to include choke points: areas where the pathway to a starting point becomes narrow and makes it harder for large groups of units to come in at once. An easy way to do this is by limiting the size and number of ramps leading off the base when it's on a higher cliff level, or by using cliffs that are higher than the level the base is on to close the base in and only leave a small opening.

Expansion Bases

Expansion bases are the locations used by players to expand their territory and venture further onto the battlefield.

StarCraft II Level Design: Melee Maps
  • There are natural expansions and unnatural expansions. Natural expansions are generally adjacent to or close to one of the starting bases and represent the next logical location for a player to go when they build their second base. Unnatural expansions are locations that are not geographically or spatially linked to any of the starting bases and are essentially up for grabs by any player.
  • Expansion bases are a great way to dictate flow of the game as their placement will affect how your players expand. For example, if you have an eight-person FFA map you could intentionally build only four natural expansion bases and put them between opposing players' start positions to guarantee players must interact and start conflicts with other players to gain them. Alternatively you could have a 1v1 map where there are numerous natural expansions for each player and each one gives different advantages and disadvantages. Considering the number of expansion bases you have and how they are laid out allows you to manage the experience your players will have and create a variety of unique levels.
  • Unnatural expansions are also a great way to encourage conflict between players. In most cases you will want to have fewer unnatural expansions than players because some players will probably be wiped out before anyone tries gaining an unnatural expansion.
  • Including bonuses such as Rich Mineral Fields in unnatural expansions is also a good idea as it makes unnatural expansions more appealing and makes the player more willing to risk the battle to gain the rewards.
  • Choke points are also not uncommon for expansion bases.

Xel'Naga Towers

StarCraft II Level Design: Melee Maps
  • A Xel'Naga tower is a structure that can be found on the map which reveals large areas of the map for the player who controls it.
  • You will generally find one Xel'Naga Tower in the center of the map with the idea being for players to try and get control of it as they expand. This is very important to gameplay as it is a good place for players to start interacting and fighting if they haven't already. By putting it at the center you are giving every player an equal chance to get it and creating a good "waypoint" for players to work towards in their conquest of the map.
  • In some larger maps designers will place two towers because the number of players would make an individual tower too chaotic, but this is not incredibly common and should only be done at your discretion.

Level Layout and the Importance of Symmetry

StarCraft II Level Design: Melee Maps

The first thing to do when laying out your level is to determine where the starting and expansion bases will be. Once you have good positions for the starting bases, raise those positions up to a higher cliff level and decide how much space you want each player to have. Then, start building outward from the bases and develop the level more as you get closer to the center.

It's best to consider the experience you want the player to have and use that as the guiding force in determining what to do next. Continue developing your level inwardly and eventually you will have the entire area laid out. It's important to always consider level symmetry and keeping things equal for all players because this helps you maintain balance and makes the level design process easier.

By making a symmetrical level you can avoid many of the balance issues that can easily come up.

Technically you don't need your level to be symmetrical to be balanced, but making a well-balanced level without symmetry is a much larger challenge. By making a symmetrical level you can avoid many of the balance issues that can easily come up.

For example, if any player's resources are harder to get to or farther from their base than any other player's resources it will take them more time to gather the same amount of resources, and no matter how good they are they will never be able to catch up to the other players or advance through their tech trees as quickly.

In a similar vein, if any area on the map has more doodads or props than any other area it will probably take the player longer to move through that area, which means that if they are forced to go through this area they will not be able to move through the map as quickly and may lose their chance at gaining control of the Xel'Naga Tower or other advantageous spots.

So, when laying out your level, try to keep it as symmetrical as possible and to ensure that every player has the same or a similar setup so that no player is disadvantaged by the layout itself.


Designing Conflict

You may have noticed that I have mentioned the idea of encouraging conflict many times already in this article. This is because SC2 is a competitive multiplayer game which thrives on conflict and combat. It is your job as the level designer to create this conflict and weave it into the fabric of your level.

There are a few ways to do this, such as intentionally putting enemies near each other, limiting the number of expansion bases with rich mineral fields, or limiting the number of Xel'Naga Towers.

StarCraft II Level Design: Melee Maps

The idea here is to force interaction between your players and to bring their goals into conflict with the goals of their opponent. By design this is already the case in SC2 since you can only win a game by killing your opponents. Despite this though you should still consider these ideas when determining where bases will go and what paths are available to the player to progress through your level.


Playtesting and Re-Balancing

Once you have a layout you are happy with you move on to the longest and most important stage of development: playtesting and re-balancing.

No matter how much time you spend on your level before you play it, it will probably not be perfect. To get it just right and work out all the kinks you will have to start playing it and, most importantly, letting other people play it. Release the map and get people to play it so you can get as much feedback as possible.

There are a lot of good communities for SC2 developers including SC2Mapster, Team Liquid, and even the official Blizzard forums. Use these resources to your advantage and tell people about your map so they can go out and play it.

When in this stage of development do your best to be in as few of the tests as possible to prevent your knowledge of the level from skewing the test. Also, make sure you take everything that's said into account - and don't take any of it personally; you asked for help and people are giving it, that's all that matters. Do as much testing as you can and gather as much info as you can.

It's important that you continue testing and rebalancing your map until it is truly complete and don't just stop after the first set of fixes are made. This may take a while, but your map will be better for it in the end.


Where Do I Go From Here?

After your level is balanced to satisfaction you should start trying to make it look nice. The next article in this series will deal with exactly that and will also cover a few tips about the editor that are important to consider when designing your level so make sure to check it out when we release it.

If you have any questions about the topics covered in this article, or feel you have good information for other aspiring level designers such as other good resources or things you've learned while working with the editor, let us know in the comments. I hope to see you back here soon for the second part of the series.

Related Posts
  • Game Development
    Game Design
    Designing an RPG Inventory System That Fits: Preliminary StepsWhich rpg inventory system icon preliminary steps
    Our hero is preparing to take on a vicious two-headed Ogre, whose sole purpose in life is to smash the capital city into utter oblivion. With backpack firmly in hand, our potential savior forks over enough Gil to purchase 100 hi-potions. Only there's one problem: the 100th won't fit, which seems odd considering he can stash another 99 mid-potions.Read More…
  • Game Development
    Game Design
    Designing RPG Mini-Games (and Getting Them Right)Designing rpg mini games hires
    The world is on the brink of being uprooted by a megalomaniac hell-bent on destruction. You and your band of merry followers are the only group able to stop him. What better time to head on down to the stables and breed exotic birds? Or not...Read More…
  • Game Development
    Game Design
    A Look at Luck in Game DesignA look at luck in game design 400px
    The luck vs. skill aspect of games is one which is fairly central to good design—indeed, it's something we've covered before. But before we worry about trying to balance luck and skill, we really need to ask: what is chance, and to what extent is it necessary in a game?Read More…
  • Game Development
    How to Learn
    How To Learn Board Game Design and DevelopmentPreview400
    Over the past decade, board games have gained increased prominence within the game industry. With the growing popularity of Euro-style board games, such as Settlers of Catan, and the constant influx of new games and game types such as Dominion, the popular deck-building game, board games have seen an unexpected resurgence among gamers of all kinds. While board games share many ideas with video games, they are played in a very different way, and often use very different game mechanics. Designing for board games brings about different challenges than designing for video games, but the skills can be applied universally to make all of your games better.Read More…
  • Game Development
    Game Design
    Don't Frustrate the Player: 3 Rules for Keeping Them InvolvedDont frustrate the player 400px
    It's not enough to just say that a game is simply "bad", and that it has nothing it can teach us: why is it bad? Is there a problem with the level design or the character movement? Is the game not rewarding? Perhaps the game is repetitive and unimaginative, or perhaps the game is targeted towards a demographic other than us. There are many ways to lose a player, but the fastest way is to make your game "not fun" - so how can we avoid this?Read More…
  • Game Development
    Roundups
    9 Tips for Indie Game Developers I Learned at GDC 2013Gdc 2013 tips hires
    When I attended GDC 2013 I spent most of my time at the Independent Game Developers Summit where I got to hear many successful indie developers talk about how their projects succeeded and how they've stayed in business through both success and failure. In this article I'll go over the tips I found most useful, and the ones I believe will help you be the best developer you can be.Read More…