Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Game Development
  2. Programming
Gamedevelopment

توليد مستويات كهف عشوائي باستخدام الآلات الخلوية

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Aeni Amalia (you can also view the original English article)

مولدات المحتوى الإجرائية هي أجزاء من التعليمات البرمجية المكتوبة في لعبتك والتي يمكنها إنشاء أجزاء جديدة من محتوى اللعبة في أي وقت - حتى عندما تكون اللعبة قيد التشغيل! حاول مطورو اللعبة أن يولدوا كل شيء من عالم ثلاثي الأبعاد إلى الموسيقى التصويرية الموسيقية. إضافة بعض جيل إلى اللعبة طريقة رائعة لسد العجز في قيمة إضافية: اللاعبين أحبها لأنها تحصل على محتوى جديدة وغير متوقعة ومثيرة في كل مرة كانت تلعب.

في هذا البرنامج التعليمي، سوف نبحث في طريقة عظيمة لتوليد مستويات عشوائية، ومحاولة لتمتد حدود ما قد تعتقد يمكن أن تتولد.

الوظائف ذات الصلة

إذا كنت مهتمًا بقراءة المزيد حول موضوعات إنشاء المحتوى الإجرائي أو تصميم المستوى أو الذكاء الاصطناعي أو الأوتوماتية الخلوية ، فاحرص على التحقق من هذه الوظائف الأخرى:


مرحبا بكم في الكهوف!

في هذا البرنامج التعليمي، ونحن في طريقنا لبناء مولد كهف. الكهوف كبيرة بالنسبة لكل نوع من أنواع اللعبة والإعدادات، ولكن أنهم لا سيما يذكرني القديمة الزنزانات في لعب الأدوار.

إلقاء نظرة على العرض التوضيحي أدناه لمعرفة أنواع الإخراج عليك أن تكون قادراً على الحصول على. انقر فوق 'العالم الجديد' لإنتاج كهف جديد أن ننظر إلى. سنتحدث عن إعدادات مختلفة ما فعله في الوقت المناسب.


مولد هذا الواقع يعود لنا صفيف ثنائي الأبعاد كبيرة من الكتل، كل واحدة منها أما صلبة أو فارغة. حتى في الواقع، يمكنك استخدام هذه المولدات لجميع أنواع الألعاب بالإضافة إلى زنزانة-الزواحف: مستويات عشوائية لألعاب استراتيجية، تيليمابس لمنصة الألعاب، ربما حتى كساحات لمطلق النار متعددة! إذا نظرت بعناية ، فإن التقليب بين الكتل الصلبة والفارغة يجعل مولد الجزيرة أيضًا. كل ذلك يستخدم نفس الكود والإخراج ، مما يجعله أداة مرنة بالفعل.

دعونا نبدأ بسؤال بسيط: ما هو على وجه الأرض هو إنسان خلوي ، على أي حال؟


الابتداء مع الخلايا

في سبعينيات القرن العشرين ، نشر عالم رياضيات يدعى جون كونواي وصفاً لـ "لعبة الحياة" ، وأحيانًا ما يطلق عليه "الحياة". لم تكن الحياة حقا لعبة كان أشبه بمحاكاة أخذت شبكة من الخلايا (التي يمكن أن تكون حية أو ميتة) وتطبيق بعض القواعد البسيطة عليها.

تم تطبيق أربعة قواعد لكل خلية في كل خطوة من المحاكاة:

  1. إذا كان للخلية الحية أقل من جارين حيين ، فإنها تموت.
  2. إذا كان للخلية الحية اثنين أو ثلاثة من الجيران الحيين ، فإنها تبقى حية
  3. إذا كان للخلية الحية أكثر من ثلاثة جيران أحياء ، فإنها تموت.
  4. إذا كان للخلية الميتة ثلاثة جيران حيين ، فإنها تصبح حية.

لطيفة وبسيطة! إذا كنت تحاول بتركيبات مختلفة لبدء تشغيل الشبكات، يمكنك الحصول على نتائج غريبة جداً. حلقات لانهائية، الآلات التي يبصقون في الأشكال، وأكثر. لعبة الحياة هي مثال على إنسان آلي خلوي - شبكة من الخلايا تحكمها قواعد معينة.

ونحن ذاهبون لتنفيذ نظام مشابه جداً للحياة، ولكن بدلاً من إنتاج أشكال وأنماط مضحك، هو الذهاب إلى إنشاء نظم الكهف مذهلة للألعاب.


تنفيذ إنسان الخلوية

سنقوم بتمثيل شبكتنا الخلوية كمجموعة ثنائية الأبعاد من القيم المنطقية (صحيحة أو خاطئة). وهذا يناسب لنا لأن نحن مهتمون فقط في ما إذا كان بلاط صلبة أم لا.

في ما يلي نبدأ بتهيئة شبكتنا من الخلايا:

تلميح: لاحظ أن الفهرس الأول هو اﻻحداثي السيني للمصفوفة، والمؤشر الثاني هو اﻻحداثي ص. وهذا يجعل الوصول إلى الصفيف أكثر طبيعية في التعليمات البرمجية.

في معظم لغات البرمجة ، سيتم تهيئة هذا المصفوفة مع ضبط جميع قيمها على false. وهذا ما يرام بالنسبة لنا! إذا كان فهرس الصفيف (س ، ص) غير صحيح ، فسنقول إن الخلية فارغة ؛ إذا كان صحيحًا ، سيكون هذا البلاط صخرة صلبة.

كل واحد من هذه المواقف الصفيف يمثل واحداً من 'الخلايا' في شبكة الهاتف الخلوي لدينا. الآن نحن بحاجة إلى إعداد شبكة لدينا حتى نتمكن من البدء في بناء الكهوف لدينا.

نحن في طريقنا إلى البدء بإعداد كل خلية عشوائياً إلى أما حيا أو ميتا. وسيكون كل خلية نفس فرصة العشوائية التي تبذل على قيد الحياة، ويجب عليك التأكد من أن يتم تعيين هذه القيمة فرصة في متغير في مكان ما، نظراً لأننا بالتأكيد نريد لقرص عليه في وقت لاحق وبعد ذلك في مكان يسهل الوصول سوف يساعدنا ذلك. سوف تستخدم 45% لتبدأ.

Our random cave before any cellular automaton simulation steps
لدينا كهف عشوائي قبل أي خطوات محاكاة automaton الخلوية.

إذا نحن بتشغيل هذه التعليمات البرمجية، ونحن في نهاية المطاف مع شبكة كبيرة من الخلايا مثل تلك المذكورة أعلاه التي يتم عشوائياً حيا أو ميتا. أنها الفوضى، وأنه بالتأكيد لا يشبه أي نظام كهف لقد مثيلاً. ما هي الخطوة التالية؟


تنمو لدينا الكهوف

تذكر القواعد التي تحكم الخلايا في لعبة الحياة؟ في كل مرة تمر فيها المحاكاة خطوة واحدة ، تتحقق كل خلية من قواعد الحياة وترى ما إذا كانت ستتغير إلى أن تكون حية أم ميتة. سنستخدم نفس الفكرة بالضبط لبناء كهوفنا - سنقوم بكتابة وظيفة الآن تعمل على كل خلية في الشبكة ، وتطبق بعض القواعد الأساسية لتقرير ما إذا كانت تعيش أو تموت.

كما سترى لاحقاً، نحن ذاهبون إلى استخدام هذا القليل من التعليمات البرمجية أكثر من مرة، حيث وضعه في الدالة الخاصة به يعني يمكن أن نسميها الكثير أو كعدة مرات كما نحب. سنعطيه اسمًا مفيدًا مثل doSimulationStep () أيضًا.

ما الوظيفة يجب أن أفعل؟ الأولى أيضا، نحن ذاهبون لجعل شبكة جديدة يمكننا أن نضع قيمنا الخلية المحدثة في. أن نفهم لماذا نحن بحاجة إلى القيام بذلك، تذكر أنه لحساب قيمة خلية في الشبكة الجديدة، ونحن بحاجة إلى إلقاء نظرة على جيرانها ثمانية:

gdt_1

ولكن إذا كان الفعل لقد حسبت القيمة الجديدة لبعض الخلايا ووضعها مرة أخرى في الشبكة، ثم سيكون لدينا حساب مزيج بيانات القديمة والجديدة، مثل هذا:

gdt_2

عفوا! هذا ليس ما نريده على الإطلاق. لذلك في كل مرة نقوم فيها بحساب قيمة خلية جديدة ، بدلاً من وضعها في الخريطة القديمة ، سنكتبها إلى خريطة جديدة.

لنبدأ بكتابة الدالة doSimulationStep () ، ثم:

نريد أن تنظر كل خلية في الشبكة بدورها، وكيف العديد من جيرانها بحي وميت. يعد عد جيرانك في مصفوفة واحدة من تلك الأجزاء المملّة من الكود سيكون عليك كتابة مليون مرة. وهنا تنفيذ سريع لها في وظيفة لقد دعا countAliveNeighbours ():

هناك شيئان حول هذه الوظيفة:

أولاً ، الحلقات غريبة قليلاً إذا لم تقم بشيء كهذا من قبل. الفكرة هي أننا نريد أن ننظر إلى كافة الخلايا التي يتم حول النقطة (x, y). إذا نظرت إلى الرسم التوضيحي أدناه ، يمكنك أن ترى كيف أن المؤشرات التي نريدها هي واحدة أقل ، مساوية ، وأكثر من فهرس أصلي واحد. لدينا اثنين من الحلقات يعطينا ذلك فقط ، بدءا من -1 ، والتكرار من خلال +1. ثم نضيف ذلك إلى الفهرس الأصلي داخل الحلقة للعثور على كل جارة.

gdt_3

إشعار الثاني، كيف إذا كنت التحقق من أننا شبكة الإشارة التي ليست حقيقية (على سبيل المثال، وخارج حافة الخريطة) ونحن نعتمد عليه كبلد مجاور. أنا أفضل هذا الجيل كهف نظراً لأنه يميل إلى المساعدة في سد في حواف الخريطة، ولكن يمكنك تجربة بعدم القيام بذلك إذا أردت.

الآن ، دعنا نعود إلى وظيفة doSimulationStep () الخاصة بنا ونضيف بعض الشفرات الأخرى:

هذه الحلقات على الخريطة بأكملها ، وتطبيق قواعدنا على كل خلية الشبكة لحساب القيمة الجديدة ووضعها في newMap. القواعد هي أبسط من لعبة الحياة - لدينا اثنين من المتغيرات الخاصة ، واحد لخلايا الولادة الميتة (ولادة ليمت) ، وواحد لقتل الخلايا الحية (deathLimit). إذا كانت الخلايا الحية محاطة بأقل من الخلايا دياثليميت أنهم يموتون، وإذا الخلايا الميتة قرب على الأقل الخلايا بيرثليميت فإنها تصبح على قيد الحياة. لطيف وبسيط!

كل ما تبقى في النهاية لمسة نهائية للعودة تحديث خريطة. تمثل هذه الوظيفة خطوة واحدة لقواعدنا التلقائية للخلية - والخطوة التالية هي فهم ما يحدث عندما نطبقه مرة واحدة أو مرتين أو أكثر على خارطة البداية الأولية.


التغيير والتبديل وضبط

دعونا ننظر إلى ما يشبه رمز الجيل الرئيسي الآن ، وذلك باستخدام الرمز الذي كتبناه حتى الآن.

الجزء الوحيد الجديد من الكود هو الحل الذي يقوم بتشغيل أسلوب المحاكاة الخاص بنا عددًا محددًا من المرات. مرة أخرى ، أدخلها في متغير حتى نتمكن من تغييرها ، لأننا سنبدأ في اللعب بهذه القيم الآن!

حتى الآن لقد وضعنا هذه المتغيرات:

  • تحدد chanceToStartAlive مدى كثافة الشبكة الأولية بالخلايا الحية.
  • ستارفاتيونليميت هي الحد الأدنى للجار الذي يبدأ خلايا الموت.
  • أوفيربوبليميت هو الحد الأعلى الجار الذي يبدأ خلايا الموت.
  • رقم الولادة هو عدد الجيران التي تتسبب في أن تصبح الخلية الميتة حية.
  • numberOfSteps هو عدد المرات التي نؤدي فيها خطوة المحاكاة.
Our random cave after two cellular automaton simulation steps
لدينا كهف عشوائي بعد خطوتين محاكاة إنسان الخلوية.

يمكنك كمان مع هذه المتغيرات في العرض في الجزء العلوي من الصفحة. ستغير كل قيمة العرض التوضيحي بشكل كبير ، لذا يمكنك اللعب حوله ومعرفة ما يناسب.

أحد التغييرات الأكثر إثارة للاهتمام التي يمكنك إجراؤها هي المتغير numberOfSteps. عند تشغيل المحاكاة لمزيد من الخطوات ، تختفي خشونة الخريطة ، والجزر تنساب إلى لا شيء. لقد أضفت زرًا يمكنك من خلاله استدعاء الوظيفة يدويًا بنفسك ، ورؤية التأثيرات. التجربة قليلاً وستجد مجموعة من الإعدادات التي تناسب نمط حياتك وهذا النوع من المستويات يحتاج اللعبة الخاصة بك.

Our random cave after six cellular automaton simulation steps
لدينا كهف عشوائي بعد ست خطوات محاكاة إنسان الخلوية.

مع ذلك ، انتهيت. تهانينا-يمكنك فقط تعرفت على مولد مستوى إجرائي، أحسنت! الجلوس، تشغيل وإعادة تشغيل التعليمات البرمجية الخاصة بك، وكهف النظم التي تخرج من ابتسامة غريبة ورائعة. مرحبا بكم في العالم جيل الإجرائية.


استمرارا له

إذا كنت يحدق في المولدات الخاصة بك الكهف جميلة، وأتساءل ماذا يمكن أن تفعل معها، إليك بضعة أفكار التعيين 'الائتمان إضافية':

استخدام تعبئة الفيضان لفحص الجودة

إن تعبئة الفيضان هي خوارزمية بسيطة للغاية يمكنك استخدامها للعثور على جميع المسافات في صفيف يتصل بنقطة معينة. تماما مثل الاسم يوحي، الخوارزمية يعمل قليلاً مثل صب دلو من الماء إلى مستوى الخاصة بك--ينتشر من نقطة البداية، ويملأ في جميع أنحاء.

ملء الفيضانات كبيرة بالنسبة للآلات الخلوية لأنه يمكنك استخدامه لمعرفة كيف كبير كهف خاص. إذا قمت بتشغيل العرض التجريبي عدة مرات ستلاحظ أن بعض الخرائط تتكون من كهف كبير واحد ، في حين أن البعض الآخر يحتوي على عدد قليل من الكهوف الأصغر التي يتم فصلها عن بعضها البعض. ملء الفيضانات يمكن أن تساعدك على اكتشاف كيف كبير كهف، ومن ثم أما إعادة إنشاء المستوى إذا كان صغير جداً، أو أن تقرر أين تريد اللاعب أن تبدأ إذا كنت تعتقد أنها كبيرة بما يكفي. هناك مخطط عريض لفيضان ملء ويكيبيديا

وضع الكنز السريع والبسيط

في بعض الأحيان يتطلب وضع الكنز في المناطق الباردة الكثير من التعليمات البرمجية ، ولكن يمكننا في الواقع كتابة جزء بسيط من الكود لوضع الكنز بعيدًا عن الطريق في أنظمتنا الكهفية. لدينا بالفعل لدينا قانون أن تحصى كم من جيران ساحة له، وبواسطة حلقات عبر نظامنا كهف الانتهاء، يمكننا أن نرى كيف محاطة بجدران ساحة خاصة.

إذا خلية شبكة فارغة محاطة بالكثير من الجدران الصلبة، هو على الأرجح في نهاية ممر أو مطوي بعيداً في الجدران لنظام الكهف. هذا مكان عظيم لإخفاء الكنز-بفعل بسيط التحقق من جيراننا أننا يمكن أن تنزلق الكنز إلى زوايا وأسفل الأزقة.

هذه ليست مثالية. فإنه يضع أحياناً الكنز في الثقوب التي يتعذر الوصول إليها في نظام كهف، وفي بعض الأحيان سوف تكون البقع واضحة تماما، أيضا. ولكن، في السؤال، أنها طريقة رائعة لهواتف محمولة مبعثر حول مستوى الخاصة بك. جربة في العرض عن طريق ضرب زر placeTreasure()!


الاستنتاجات ومزيد من القراءة

يوضح لك هذا البرنامج التعليمي كيفية بناء مولد إجرائي أساسي ولكنه كامل. مع بضع خطوات بسيطة قمنا بكتابة الكود الذي يمكن أن يخلق مستويات جديدة في غمضة عين. نأمل أن يكون هذا قد أعطاك ذوق من إمكانات بناء مولدات المحتوى الإجرائية للألعاب الخاصة بك!

إذا كنت ترغب في قراءة المزيد ، Roguebasin هو مصدر كبير للمعلومات عن أنظمة توليد الإجرائية. وهو يركز في الغالب على ألعاب roguelike ، ولكن العديد من تقنياته يمكن استخدامها في أنواع أخرى من اللعبة ، وهناك الكثير من الإلهام لتوليد أجزاء أخرى من اللعبة بشكل إجرائي أيضًا!

إذا كنت تريد المزيد من المعلومات حول إنشاء المحتوى الإجرائي أو Cellular Automata ، فإليك إصدارًا رائعًا عبر الإنترنت من Game Of Life (على الرغم من أنني أوصي بشدة بكتابة "Conway's Game Of Life" في Google). قد ترغب أيضا في Wolfram Tones ، تجربة ساحرة في استخدام الأوتوماتية الخلوية لتوليد الموسيقى!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

Generate Random Cave Levels Using Cellular Automata

by

This Cyber Monday Tuts+ courses will be reduced to just $3 (usually $15). Don't miss out.

Procedural content generators are bits of code written into your game that can create new pieces of game content at any time - even when the game is running! Game developers have tried to procedurally generate everything from 3D worlds to musical soundtracks. Adding some generation to your game is a great way to plug in extra value: players love it because they get new, unpredictable and exciting content each time they play.

In this tutorial, we'll look at a great method for generating random levels, and try to stretch the boundaries of what you might think can be generated.


Welcome to the Caves!

In this tutorial, we're going to build a cave generator. Caves are great for all sorts of game genres and settings, but they particularly remind me of old dungeons in role-playing games.

Take a look at the demo below to see the kinds of output you'll be able to get. Click 'New World' to produce a new cave to look at. We'll talk about what the different settings do in due course.


This generator actually returns us a big two-dimensional array of blocks, each of which is either solid or empty. So in fact, you could use this generator for all sorts of games besides dungeon-crawlers: random levels for strategy games, tilemaps for platform games, perhaps even as arenas for a multiplayer shooter! If you look carefully, flipping the solid and empty blocks makes an island-generator too. It all uses the same code and output, which makes this a really flexible tool.

Let's get started by asking a simple question: what on earth is a cellular automaton, anyway?


Getting Started With Cells

In the 1970s, a mathematician called John Conway published a description of The Game Of Life, sometimes just called Life. Life wasn't really a game; it was more like a simulation that took a grid of cells (that could be either alive or dead) and applied some simple rules to them.

Four rules were applied to each cell in every step of the simulation:

  1. If a living cell has less than two living neighbours, it dies.
  2. If a living cell has two or three living neighbours, it stays alive.
  3. If a living cell has more than three living neighbours, it dies.
  4. If a dead cell has exactly three living neighbours, it becomes alive.

Nice and simple! Yet if you try out different combinations of starting grids, you can get very strange outcomes. Infinite loops, machines that spit out shapes, and more. The Game of Life is an example of a cellular automaton - a grid of cells that are governed by certain rules.

We're going to implement a system very similar to Life, but instead of producing funny patterns and shapes, it's going to create amazing cave systems for our games.


Implementing a Cellular Automaton

We're going to represent our cellular grid as a two-dimensional array of Boolean (true or false) values. This suits us because we're only interested in whether a tile is solid or not.

Here's us initialising our grid of cells:

boolean[][] cellmap = new boolean[width][height];

Tip: Notice that the first index is the x-coordinate for the array, and the second index is the y-coordinate. This makes accessing the array more natural in code.

In most programming languages, this array will initialise with all its values set to false. That's fine for us! If an array index (x,y) is false, we'll say that the cell is empty; if it's true, that tile will be solid rock.

Each one of these array positions represents one of the 'cells' in our cellular grid. Now we need to set up our grid so we can begin building our caves.

We're going to start out by randomly setting each cell to either dead or alive. Each cell will have the same random chance of being made alive, and you should make sure that this chance value is set in a variable somewhere, because we'll definitely want to tweak it later and having it somewhere easy to access will help us with that. I'll use 45% to start off with.

float chanceToStartAlive = 0.45f;

public boolean[][] initialiseMap(boolean[][] map){
	for(int x=0; x<width; x++){
		for(int y=0; y<height; y++){
			if(random() < chanceToStartAlive){
				map[x][y] = true;
			}
		}
	}
	return map;
}
Our random cave before any cellular automaton simulation steps
Our random cave before any cellular automaton simulation steps.

If we run this code, we end up with a big grid of cells like the one above that are randomly alive or dead. It's messy, and it definitely doesn't look like any cave system I've ever seen. So what's next?


Growing Our Caves

Remember the rules that governed the cells in The Game Of Life? Each time the simulation went ahead by one step, every cell would check the rules of Life and see if it would change to being alive or dead. We're going to use exactly the same idea to build our caves - we'll write a function now that loops over every cell in the grid, and applies some basic rules to decide whether it lives or dies.

As you'll see later, we're going to use this bit of code more than once, so putting it in its own function means we can call it as many or as few times as we like. We'll give it a nice informative name like doSimulationStep(), too.

What does the function need to do? Well first, we're going to make a new grid that we can put our updated cell values in. To understand why we need to do this, remember that to calculate the new value of a cell in the grid, we need to look at its eight neighbours:

gdt_1

But if we've already calculated the new value of some of the cells and put them back in the grid, then our calculation will be a mix of new and old data, like this:

gdt_2

Oops! That's not what we want at all. So each time we calculate a new cell value, instead of putting it back in the old map, we're going to write it to a new one.

Let's begin writing that doSimulationStep() function, then:

public doSimulationStep(boolean[][] oldMap){
	boolean[][] newMap = new boolean[width][height];
	//...

We want to consider each cell in the grid in turn, and count how many of its neighbours are alive and dead. Counting your neighbours in an array is one of those boring bits of code you'll have to write a million times. Here's a quick implementation of it in a function I've called countAliveNeighbours():

//Returns the number of cells in a ring around (x,y) that are alive.
public countAliveNeighbours(boolean[][] map, int x, int y){
	int count = 0;
	for(int i=-1; i<2; i++){
		for(int j=-1; j<2; j++){
			int neighbour_x = x+i;
			int neighbour_y = y+j;
			//If we're looking at the middle point
			if(i == 0 && j == 0){
				//Do nothing, we don't want to add ourselves in!
			}
			//In case the index we're looking at it off the edge of the map
			else if(neighbour_x < 0 || neighbour_y < 0 || neighbour_x >= map.length || neighbour_y >= map[0].length){
				count = count + 1;
			}
			//Otherwise, a normal check of the neighbour
			else if(map[neighour_x][neighbour_y]){
				count = count + 1;
			}
		}
	}
}

A couple of things about this function:

First, the for loops are a little weird if you've not done something like this before. The idea is that we want to look at all the cells that are around the point (x,y). If you look at the illustration below, you can see how the indices we want are one less, equal to, and one more then the original index. Our two for loops give us just that, starting at -1, and looping through to +1. We then add that to the original index inside the for loop to find each neighbour.

gdt_3

Second, notice how if we're checking a grid reference that isn't real (for instance, it's off the edge of the map) we count it as a neighbour. I prefer this for cave generation because it tends to help fill in the edges of the map, but you can experiment by not doing this if you like.

So now, let's go back to our doSimulationStep() function and add in some more code:

public boolean[][] doSimulationStep(boolean[][] oldMap){
	boolean[][] newMap = new boolean[width][height];
	//Loop over each row and column of the map
	for(int x=0; x<oldMap.length; x++){
		for(int y=0; y<oldMap[0].length; y++){
			int nbs = countAliveNeighbours(oldMap, x, y);
			//The new value is based on our simulation rules
			//First, if a cell is alive but has too few neighbours, kill it.
			if(oldMap[x][y]){
				if(nbs < deathLimit){
 					newMap[x][y] = false;
  				}
 				else{
 					newMap[x][y] = true;
  				}
  			} //Otherwise, if the cell is dead now, check if it has the right number of neighbours to be 'born'
  			else{
  				if(nbs > birthLimit){
					newMap[x][y] = true;
				}
				else{
					newMap[x][y] = false;
				}
			}
		}
	}
	return newMap;
}

This loops over the whole map, applying our rules to each grid cell to compute the new value and placing it in newMap. The rules are simpler than the Game of Life - we have two special variables, one for birthing dead cells (birthLimit), and one for killing live cells (deathLimit). If living cells are surrounded by less than deathLimit cells they die, and if dead cells are near at least birthLimit cells they become alive. Nice and simple!

All that's left at the end is a final touch to return the updated map. This function represents a single step of our cellular automaton's rules - the next step is to understand what happens as we apply it once, twice or more times to our initial starting map.


Tweaking and Tuning

Let's look at what the main generation code now looks like, using the code we've written so far.

public boolean[][] generateMap(){
	//Create a new map
	boolean[][] cellmap = new boolean[width][height];
	//Set up the map with random values
	cellmap = initialiseMap(cellmap);
	//And now run the simulation for a set number of steps
	for(int i=0; i<numberOfSteps; i++){
		cellmap = doSimulationStep(cellmap);
	}
}

The only really new bit of code is a for loop that runs our simulation method a set number of times. Again, pop it in a variable so we can change it, because we're going to start playing with these values now!

So far we've set these variables:

  • chanceToStartAlive sets how dense the initial grid is with living cells.
  • starvationLimit is the lower neighbour limit at which cells start dying.
  • overpopLimit is the upper neighbour limit at which cells start dying.
  • birthNumber is the number of neighbours that cause a dead cell to become alive.
  • numberOfSteps is the number of times we perform the simulation step.
Our random cave after two cellular automaton simulation steps
Our random cave after two cellular automaton simulation steps.

You can fiddle with these variables in the demo at the top of the page. Each value will change the demo dramatically, so have a play around and see what suits.

One of the most interesting changes you can make is to the numberOfSteps variable. As you run the simulation for more steps, the roughness of the map disappears, and islands smooth away into nothing. I've added in a button so that you can call the function manually yourself, and see the effects. Experiment a bit and you'll find a combination of settings that suits your style and the kind of levels your game needs.

Our random cave after six cellular automaton simulation steps
Our random cave after six cellular automaton simulation steps.

With that, you're done. Congratulations - you've just made a procedural level generator, well done! Sit back, run and re-run your code, and smile at the weird and wonderful cave systems that come out. Welcome to the world of procedural generation.


Taking It Further

If you're staring at your lovely cave generator and wondering what else you can do with it, here are a couple of 'extra credit' assignment ideas:

Using Flood Fill to Do Quality Checking

Flood fill is a very simple algorithm that you can use to find all the spaces in an array that connect to a particular point. Just like the name suggests, the algorithm works a bit like pouring a bucket of water into your level - it spreads out from the starting point and fills in all the corners.

Flood fill is great for cellular automata because you can use it to see how big a particular cave is. If you run the demo a few times you'll notice that some maps are made up of one big cave, while others have a few smaller caves that are separated from each other. Flood fill can help you detect how big a cave is, and then either regenerate the level if it's too small, or decide where you want the player to start if you think it's big enough. There's a great outline of flood fill on Wikipedia.

Quick and Simple Treasure Placement

Placing treasure in cool areas sometimes requires a lot of code, but we can actually write quite a simple bit of code to place treasure out of the way in our cave systems. We already have our code that counts how many neighbours a square has, so by looping over our finished cave system, we can see how surrounded by walls a particular square is.

If an empty grid cell is surrounded by lots of solid walls, it's probably at the very end of a corridor or tucked away in the walls of the cave system. This is a great place to hide treasure - so by doing a simple check of our neighbours we can slip treasure into corners and down alleyways.

public void placeTreasure(boolean[][] world){
	//How hidden does a spot need to be for treasure?
	//I find 5 or 6 is good. 6 for very rare treasure.
	int treasureHiddenLimit = 5;
	for (int x=0; x < worldWidth; x++){
		for (int y=0; y < worldHeight; y++){
 			if(!world[x][y]){
 				int nbs = countAliveNeighbours(world, x, y);
  				if(nbs >= treasureHiddenLimit){
					placeTreasure(x, y);
				}
			}
		}
	}
}

This isn't perfect. It sometimes puts treasure in inaccessible holes in the cave system, and sometimes the spots will be quite obvious, too. But, in a pinch, it's a great way to scatter collectibles around your level. Try it out in the demo by hitting the placeTreasure() button!


Conclusions and Further Reading

This tutorial showed you how to build a basic but complete procedural generator. With just a few simple steps we wrote code that can create new levels in the blink of an eye. Hopefully this has given you a taster of the potential of building procedural content generators for your games!

If you want to read more, Roguebasin is a great source of information on procedural generation systems. It mostly focuses on roguelike games, but many of its techniques can be used in other types of game, and there's lots of inspiration for procedurally generating other parts of a game too!

If you want more on Procedural Content Generation or Cellular Automata, here's a great online version of The Game Of Life (although I highly recommend typing "Conway's Game Of Life" into Google). You might also like Wolfram Tones, a charming experiment in using cellular automata to generate music!

Advertisement